Skip to content

You’ve Got (More) Mail

February 27, 2011
by

Letters are among the most significant memorial a person can leave behind them. ~ Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Boardwalk and Young's Pier, Atlantic City NJ

Boardwalk and Young's Pier, Atlantic City NJ - 1908

I’ve received many emails throughout the year asking when I was going to hold another postcard exchange. The time has arrived! I am hoping this year’s will be even more successful than last year’s. For those of you that have children/grandchildren this is a great project to get involved in.

Old Mill, Fairton NJ

Old Mill, Fairton NJ - Early 1900's

Link in to receive a postcard from me; then in return, mail one back. Visit others in the link party to expand your postcard collection. Mailing addresses will be shared via email between the participating parties. No one should forward any one else’s address. Please mention the exchange on your blog with a link back so we can get as many people participating as possible! If you don’t have a blog but would like to participate, leave a comment with your email address.

Asbury Park NJ Postcard

Mailed From Asbury Park NJ - 1908

Tell me something special about your home state, county or area of interest and I will do the same. Your mailbox will soon have sweet little snapshots of life from across the country and beyond!

Last year many found it challenging to locate postcards. Feel free to get creative and make them as my friend Kim from Twice Remembered Cottage did for the 2010 postcard exchange.

Boardwalk, Atlantic City NJ

Boardwalk, Atlantic City NJ - 1910

Tell me something special about your home state, county or area of interest and I will do the same. Your mailbox will soon have sweet little snapshots of life from across the country and beyond!

The link party will run from February 27 – April 27

Bathing Hour Atlantic City NJ

Bathing Hour Atlantic City NJ - Early 1900's

Incentive to participate and spread the word: At the close of the exchange, I will have a giveaway. All who participate will be eligible for an entry to receive a ‘New Jersey’ themed box of goodies.

Click the link below to sign up for the postcard exchange.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

*****

Linking up to Common Ground Vintage Inspiration Friday

Linking up to Weekend Bloggy Reading at Serenity Now

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2011 4:34 pm

    I loved having a postcard exchange before. You got another one on the way dear friend!

  2. February 27, 2011 7:09 pm

    Idaho is getting represented this year! I’m in!

  3. February 27, 2011 7:25 pm

    I am so there this time! I think that I am going to make mine this year. I am going to start planning this now. Woo hoo postcards!

  4. February 27, 2011 8:09 pm

    I’d love to participate! I shared this on my blog ~ http://gypsyheartandsoul.blogspot.com/2011/02/youve-got-more-mail.html

    xo
    Pat

  5. February 27, 2011 8:18 pm

    YEAH! I’m excited to partcipate again this year, Deborah. This takes me back to my very first days of blogging one year ago. Best,
    Stephenie

  6. February 28, 2011 10:43 am

    Hey Lady, you know I’m always up for a postcard exchange! I already have your address, so I’ll get one out as soon as I can find em’! 🙂
    Hugs
    Missy

  7. February 28, 2011 11:28 am

    What a great idea – let me see what’s in my stash and I’ll get back to you.

  8. February 28, 2011 1:22 pm

    “Harry, this is some place!” 😉

    This is the perfect opportunity for me to share a photo of the exact spot at the end of my street that the “Harry postcard” came from (I think I actually did manage to snap a pic during my bloggy sabbatical). It’s amazing to me how little it’s changed!

    P.S. Read your comment about the rug. My PB runner literally started “shedding” the day we put it down, so if yours has held it together this long (this long being more than 24 hours!) I think you’re in good shape.

    Laura xo

  9. ain't for city gals permalink
    February 28, 2011 1:29 pm

    Deborah, I am not going to link but I would love to send you one from Arizona again…I have your address….xoxo

  10. February 28, 2011 4:54 pm

    I am looking forward to participating in this post card exchange!! I posted about it on both my blogs, The Gardening Life and My Bookshelf. I joined the linky!!

  11. February 28, 2011 5:19 pm

    I found out about your postcard exchange through Gypsy Heart. I have a few pen pals and this would be fun too.
    I’m in!
    I am also your new follower.
    Peace….Naila Moon

  12. February 28, 2011 7:49 pm

    Count me in!

    Last years was so much fun! I cant wait to see whats in store for this year!

  13. March 1, 2011 8:13 am

    Vintage postcards have always held a particular charm for me.

  14. March 1, 2011 11:41 am

    Oh my friend! The Sweet Boy will be ever so excited as will his mother. You know how much I dearly enjoyed this event last year and I am ever so happy to participate again this year.
    I am thinking that the people I exchange with may want to wait until next month when I leave for France. A postcard from France is so much more exciting that Arizona. 🙂

  15. March 1, 2011 11:43 am

    Me again. Are you going to create a button for us to place on our blogs?

    • Deborah permalink*
      March 2, 2011 10:00 am

      Yes, I’ll have it posted tonight! Thank you for the reminder.

  16. March 1, 2011 3:00 pm

    What a neat idea! I’ll need to see if I can find some neat postcards from the area. I’ve never thought to look for them where I live.

  17. March 1, 2011 6:01 pm

    Such a cute idea!

  18. March 5, 2011 9:43 am

    This is a fun idea (although I know I’ll never get around to actually doing it)!

    I’m in New Jersey, too! 🙂

  19. March 6, 2011 2:34 pm

    What a fun idea!!! I used to collect postcards, but I wasn’t displaying them, so I quit buying. I can’t commit b.c I can barely remember to get groceries lately, but I wanted to tell you what a fun idea I think this is. 🙂

  20. March 8, 2011 12:08 pm

    What a wonderful idea! Love vintage postcards, and would love to get them in my mailbox too!
    -marie

  21. March 8, 2011 4:10 pm

    oh I just love old postcards and the history about it :)/Marie

  22. March 9, 2011 3:43 pm

    I am NOT going to miss this party this year!
    You will get my post card from South Carolina.
    I will have to go downtown to Mast general and find some cool cards!
    I am putting your button on my sidebar, so I don’t forget–because I’m pitiful and if it’s out of sight, unfortunately, it’s out of my mind—ugh.
    Will start planning a post…
    This will be fun!!
    HUGS,
    ~me

  23. March 14, 2011 8:38 am

    I am definitely, completely, committed. I am so excited to be participating this year and thank you Deborah for remembering & reminding me. So fun! Now if I can just figure out where the button goes in my sidebar…
    ~Becki

  24. March 17, 2011 1:39 pm

    I can’t wait to particpate! I have been wanting to do this for a while. Looking forward to getting started!!

  25. March 18, 2011 6:08 pm

    I am so excited about this exchange. I actually have 2 blogs. One is for ideas regarding homeschooling and being a military wife (Li’l Jam Hands~ Tattered Apron Strings). The other is my “artsy”/ creative site Suzi’s Doodles (http://suzi-doodles.blogspot.com/). I am putting your button on both (but linky-ed only Li’l Jam Hands).
    God Bless, Suzi and the Crew

  26. April 15, 2011 9:09 am

    I am excited! I still have my 2010 to close out. With my MIL’s death and our move this winter life was so complicated. Hugs to you! Anne

  27. April 17, 2011 9:47 pm

    What a great idea! I just love vintage postcards. People don’t seem to send post cards (or letters!) any more.

  28. April 19, 2011 11:51 pm

    Exchanging post cards is such a neat idea! Thank you so much for sharing this with us at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop 🙂

Leave a comment