Skip to content

Planned Kindness

February 14, 2011
by

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. ~ Plato

sled and flowers

In addition to being Valentines Day, this is the first day of Random Acts of Kindness Week. The name itself is a contradiction, implying scheduled spontaniety. I remember when “random acts of kindness” were simply referred to as being polite. People didn’t need a designated week to celebrate it. People were nice because it mattered, because that’s what you were supposed to be, expected to be. All the time. It was expressed in actions more than words.  No one needed to draw any attention to it because HE knew.

sled and flowers 2

We tend to think of the world as a thing apart. “The world”, it can be said, is a hard place; an unforgiving and dangerous ocean we must cross on a journey to an uncertain destination with few islands of warmth and happiness where the fortunate take shelter from time to time. But in truth the world is not a place apart; it is nothing more than the sum of us all–we who are in and of it. Our kindness and love renew the world as surely as indifference destroys it. This is why love isn’t just for Valentines Day or Random Acts of Kindness Week.

Sled and Flowers 3

It’s a way of life.

sled and flowers 4

Remember to express kindness every chance you get, because for some, it may be the only kindness they get.

door flowers

Linking up to : Common Ground Vintage Inspiration Friday


 

35 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 9:55 pm

    What a lovely post….thank you. I had lunch today with 4 blogging friends…it was so wonderful to speak openly and vent about things going on in each of our lives….we each have things going on from a dogs death on Friday to a new baby on the way to recovery from surgery…..My random act of kindness was giving the two extra cupcakes I brought to our adorable little waiter at the resturant who let us sit there for three hours….and the ladies act of kindness was not judging me as a nut when I told them my daughter has a ghost in her old home….aren’t friends the best!…..Happy Valentines Day my friend.

  2. Dawn permalink
    February 14, 2011 10:00 pm

    Well said! Happy Valentine’s Day!

  3. February 14, 2011 10:11 pm

    Jason and I just spent the day in the city. We had an entire conversation about how much we “like nice people”. Like if someone is nice or just polite, it is the greatest thing to us.

    I guess shows how rarely people are nice, just for the sake of being nice.

  4. February 14, 2011 10:24 pm

    The most perfect post, my friend, for today and everyday!! You are so right!
    Blessings,
    Margo

  5. February 14, 2011 11:08 pm

    This is such a wonderful, thoughtful post. Thank you.

  6. February 15, 2011 12:26 am

    Good post. I love doing random acts of kindness. It makes me smile inside, and hopefully, the other person pays it forward.

    So nice to see you again, my friend.

  7. February 15, 2011 12:31 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more…you’ve so beautifully captured the importance of kindness. I’m not much of a Valentine’s day person (to your point…I just kind of “love” every day! No offense to St. Valentine. 🙂 but I was taught to be kind and polite, like, every day. It’s really not so hard.

    Except some days when I’m driving on the Garden State Parkway. 😉

    Here’s to random acts of kindness the 358 days that aren’t this week!

  8. Jennifer permalink
    February 15, 2011 7:18 am

    excellent post!!

  9. February 15, 2011 8:19 am

    Oh you just made my heart sing..and I love the quote “Remember to express kindness every chance you get, because for some, it may be the only kindness they get.”…may I post it to my Facebook status directing them back to your blog? I think it’s a message everyone should hear..

  10. February 15, 2011 8:47 am

    Well said.

  11. ain't for city gals permalink
    February 15, 2011 8:50 am

    I think I learned to be polite from my mom and dad…in my entire life I have never seen them be rude to someone…never. It takes so little….people are hungry for it..they soak it up like a sponge! Happy Valentine Year, Deborah!…Let’s make it a good one!

  12. February 15, 2011 9:43 am

    Such lovely pictures. I cant wait to share this post with my mom. I know she will appreciate it as much as I do.

    Thanks for sharing and Happy Valentines Day. 🙂

  13. February 15, 2011 9:44 am

    Beautiful words and beautiful pics to go along with them!

  14. February 15, 2011 1:03 pm

    Thank you Deborah ~ I am going to share this post today. It can teach us all a little something extra.

    Dee XO

  15. February 15, 2011 3:08 pm

    That was a beautiful post, Deborah. I wholeheartedly agree with you. Have we really gotten to the point where we need to schedule kindness? Breaks my heart. I love what you said at the end, “Remember to express kindness every chance you get, because for some, it may be the only kindness they get.” Beautiful. Polite is a way of life for my family. It’s how I was raised. My 7-yr.-old son opens doors for others when many adults are so hurried that they no longer do the same anymore but rather let it swing back & nearly knock the glasses off your face! Anyhow. I love your pretty photographs and thank you so very much for sharing my clay tag. Being my first cake & tag customer was truly a random act of kindness on your part. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Jami

  16. February 15, 2011 3:51 pm

    Beautiful pictures ~ Thinking of you today ((hugs))

  17. February 15, 2011 5:19 pm

    Well said my friend.

    I tend to think in terms of what I put out into the world comes back to me 10x over. Therefore it is better to stay on the side of positivity.

  18. February 15, 2011 5:29 pm

    Deborah I just love this post. You are so right. Every day we should be nice to others. I think it starts at home with the children. Parents need to worry about teaching kindness and manners to children.

  19. February 15, 2011 9:05 pm

    Random Acts of Kindness Week??? I guess I am behind, but I had no idea there was such a thing!
    Acts of kindness, when recieved, feels wonderful. Acts of kindness, when given, is even more pleasurable to me! I should do it more often.

    Thanks for making me think about it.

    I love that Ellen Degeneress ends her show with ” Be kind to one another”.
    Rhonda

  20. February 15, 2011 9:46 pm

    As your quote today said, we are all going through trials. Some are just more visible than others. An act of kindness is appreciated and welcome. A little love goes a long way to help ease heartache and sorrows. May we always remember to go the extra mile, even just a smile can brighten someone’s day. 🙂

  21. February 15, 2011 10:04 pm

    Such great advice. I run across so many people in my day to day life…how am I to know what they are going through? Remembering to treat each person with kindness is a must!

  22. February 16, 2011 9:15 am

    Every day should be random acts of kindness day! 🙂 When did we start needing a special week to be nice to people…oh my! If we all had that attitude every day, we would live in a much nicer world. 🙂

    Love
    Missy 🙂

  23. February 16, 2011 3:55 pm

    Deborah – as always, a beautiful post and I love the pictures. You bring up a very good point here. I’ve never heard of Random Act of Kindness week until I read about it on Layla’s blog. While it’s nice to have the week designated, it’s sad we have to remind people – kind of like Valentine’s Day. Shouldn’t we be telling people we love them every day?

  24. February 18, 2011 12:16 am

    Deborah, oh we are on the same wavelength, do come and see my valentine’s message! Pay it forward!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

  25. February 18, 2011 10:35 am

    To My Tenderhearted Friend – You are so thoughtful and always know the right thing to say to cheer me up. I have left something on my blog for you.

  26. February 18, 2011 1:18 pm

    Yes! Beautifully said (written) Deborah! A smile, a helping hand, a kind word can make such a positive difference – and giving is just as joyful as receiving! 🙂

    Happy day to you!!!
    ~ Zuzu

  27. February 18, 2011 1:47 pm

    Deborah, what a wonderful post! So very true. we often separate ourselves and actions from “the world”, but we ARE a part of it. And nice does matter!! Lately, I’ve been trying to put myself in other peoples shoes and respond accordingly, thanks so much for the beautiful reminder!
    xo,
    Debra

  28. February 19, 2011 1:48 am

    Even though I’m reading this post after Valentine’s Day, the message is still speaking to me!

    Thank you for sharing,
    Rene’ xo

  29. February 19, 2011 12:46 pm

    If I did what you said to do about stress at the moment it would be an answer to prayer**meaning, my wish to go to the sanitorium for mentally drained, heart pounding, anxiety ridden freaks like myself ***would be on her way. LOL

    If I had imagined myself feeling like I do now last year this time, I would not have believed it…
    I am learning, each day since my drugs kicked in to breathe..think one thing at a time, sit , enjoy, and sleep. (without guilt) And meditate on some scripture to help get my negative freaking brain out of some stormy seas!

    Your posts about kindness is astounding. I even can remember simple kindness from strangers as a child….you know opening doors for others instead of going through them and letting them slam on the next shoppers face.

    We have been so conditioned to only take care of ourselves. Don’t think about anybody elses needs….so sad.

    Melissa

  30. February 21, 2011 9:20 pm

    So well put Deborah…your writing is amazing.

  31. Becky permalink
    February 22, 2011 8:01 am

    I so agree! Kindness means the world to me, so I just assume it would mean the world to someone else- therefore, I try to bless the way I’d want to be blessed. My mother was such an example of this to me when I was younger. She would always offer to return another shopper’s cart or she’d pick up items that had fallen off the store shelf. My youngest daughter does this all the time & I realize that I do it w/o thinking- and she learned it from me. 🙂

  32. February 22, 2011 4:01 pm

    Remember to express kindness every chance you get, because for some, it may be the only kindness they get.

    I love that. I miss you, can’t wait to spend some great time with you this weekend. xox

  33. February 23, 2011 9:49 am

    Beautiful, Deborah.

    Hope you are having a wonderful week.
    Maureen

  34. February 28, 2011 6:08 pm

    I had to pass on the post card exchange – I barely have enough time to do what I do. It’s a lovely idea though – you are an angel for thinking of it.

    And amen for your Feb 14th post – I didn’t comment then, but will now because I’m being a fuddy duddy on post cards 🙂 Every day should be acts of kindness day – Our Lord never took a day off and his acts weren’t random – but intentional – and ours should be too. I heart love. I heart kindness.

    These words and really made me smile. Thank you.

    God Bless you and all of yours

  35. March 10, 2011 12:12 am

    Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle. ~ Plato

    One of my all time favorite quotes. Thanks for reminding me of it again.

Leave a Reply

