Skip to content

Thirty-Two

November 13, 2009
by

Where one door closes, another opens. ~ Don Quixote 

keys in door faceUnlike McMansions or today’s designer trends to knock down walls and have one open shared space, the Fairfield House is true to its Victorian architecture and compartmentalized. Every room has it’s original door (thirty-two of them), door knob, lock and skeleton key. Imagine what fun it will be stripping, sanding, priming and  painting or staining and repeating thirty-two times!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 7:34 am

    32 doors.. locks .. knobs.. and keys.. hmmm. So what number do you happen to be on my dear?

    Seems to me that when a great task thus as this comes my way I took the time for each one to be lovingly restored (ie cabinet door knobs) and I soon realized that I needed an extra pair of gloves and more elbow grease. One by one.. slow and steady I got the job done.

    The remake of our former kitchen (prior to downsizing to our new home) took 6 months and with the hard hours.. love, blood, sweat, tears and a few cuss words.. it was done.

    I would love to see one door or knob restored.. what a treat that would be.

    I’m slowly catching up on your blog my dear.

    with love,

    ~Olivia

Leave a comment