Skip to content

American Original

October 11, 2011
by

Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn’t matter to me. Going to bed at night saying we’ve done something wonderful, that’s what matters to me. ~ Steve Jobs

Pray

Wired magazine, June 1997

The creative genius that saved Apple Computer has passed away. Steve Jobs is dead at the age of 56. By all accounts an intensely driven perfectionist and clearly a creative genius, I can say that I owe much of any professional success I have enjoyed to Steve Jobs. Whenever I was backed up to an impossible deadline or banging my head on the desk over an insoluble problem, I usually can reach into a bag of assorted Apple software and hardware tricks and pull out the proverbial rabbit. The real magic was Steve and  his relentless insistence on not merely good, but insanely great products that disappeared into the background and functioned as extensions of the user’s own mind.

That one man could make things so much better for so many people is a bit of a miracle. He drove the creation of new wealth through the force of creative will. We are all richer by his efforts. When politicians start talking about how CEOs are overpaid while preparing for another round of taxing and spending other people’s money, I hope someone mentions His Steveness. Whatever his paycheck, I think we still owe him.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. ain't for city gals permalink
    October 11, 2011 7:26 pm

    My nephew has worked for Apple for many years…he has always said it is the absolutely BEST company to work for EVER!! That speaks a lot for Steve Jobs

  2. October 11, 2011 7:44 pm

    very good post…..and so true about the politicians….I love how the young people are marching on Wall Street and what do they want?…..Income equality…..is that not a joke…Let’s pay a Domino’s delivery driver or a kid that works at Starbucks the same as what Steve Jobs was earning……makes a lot of sense…..A genius vs. and idiot…..Maybe my daughter who has an IQ of 147 with two Ivy League degrees should give half her pay away to the kid at Blimpies……It’s a shame that Mr. Jobs left this world so soon….I know he brought a whole other world to me right inside the comfort of my own home….may he rest in peace….

  3. Dee permalink
    October 11, 2011 9:46 pm

    What a legacy Steve Jobs has left our world. Another great man, taken from us too soon.

  4. October 12, 2011 5:43 am

    If only people could stop thinking they ‘deserve’ and think how to work for what they want.

    Steve Jobs was definitely a gem.

  5. October 12, 2011 10:21 am

    He is gone way too soon!

  6. October 12, 2011 11:01 am

    I sit here typing on an Apple Computer. Glad we have computers. Steve Jobs was indeed a creative thinker and world changer while on planet Earth.

    Eternity last so much longer than Earth time.

  7. October 12, 2011 2:56 pm

    I think you’re right, Deborah! Our world wouldn’t be the same without his contributions. And I love that you said he wouldn’t settle for “good”. I try to live like that, too.

    And right now I am typing on my daughter’s Mac because our computer is just “good”!!

    Big hugs to you!
    Hope all is well, and flood recovery is complete!
    Becky

  8. October 12, 2011 4:08 pm

    One of the best memorials I read (other than yours of course 🙂 was this:

    You know you have made a difference in the world when people learn of your death on devices that you have made.

  9. October 19, 2011 10:56 pm

    Good Post Thomas. I agree with the people that say ” Greatest thing since Thomas Edison”
    Mike

Leave a Reply

