Skip to content

A Place to Be

August 14, 2011
by
“The best kind of friend is the one you could sit on a porch with, never saying a word, and walk away feeling like that was the best conversation you’ve ever had. ” ~ Unknown
 

The Porch

One of the many admired features of old homes is the front porch. It is the first impression a home makes and can tell others to keep out or extend a warm invitation to sit and stay a while. The Fairfield House is draped in patriotic pride from Memorial Day to Labor Day.

Victorian detailing is evidenced in the wooden corbels, wooden posts, rails, balusters, moldings, and trim.

Front Door

The elements and time have left their marks and remind us of projects we must complete. I keep telling myself chipped paint is part of our home’s vintage charm (as seen from the road!)

Gingerbread

Porch and Rocker

The crape myrtles are now in bloom as well as the hummingbirds’ flower of choice, trumpet vines.

Porch View

Trumpet Vines

Hummingbird

The porch faces a field that goes on forever.

Open Field

After dinner Thomas and I prefer sitting on the front porch rather than the sofa. We admire the view and witness life in all it’s glory, instead of staring at the television.

Porch and Rockers

Porch View

Some nights we give a voice to dreams and disappointments. Other nights we sit in quiet solitude with gratitude, disbelief and no need for words as fireflies blink, birds sing lullabies, and the sun kisses the sky goodnight.

———-

Linking to:

LaurieAnna’s Vintage Home

31 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 12:28 pm

    Oh my goodness, Deborah.
    This was absolutely beautiful! Your home is absolutely stunning…with charm at every corner…not to mention she is beautifully “dressed”.
    What a wonderful, “feel good” post on a rainy day.
    …and as always, your words are equally as beautiful.

    Thank you for the lovely tour…
    Lisa xo
    Bilancia Designs

  2. August 14, 2011 12:37 pm

    I just wish we could sit together on that porch and laugh well into the night! Have a wonderful day! xoxo

  3. August 14, 2011 12:41 pm

    Do you think that one has to grow up with the comfort of having a front porch to be able to truly cherish one? We only have a small ‘stoop’ maybe 6’x6′. I’ve tried to get my husband to enlarge it, but he feels that we have a back porch and that here is no need for a front one too. But on days like today, when it’s raining, I want that front porch like my grandparent’s had. I want to sit in a big, rocking chair, and smell the rain, and let the mist from it splashing thru the screens, find a place on my face. I want to hear someone say, “Come in out of the rain”. Ohhhh…..But didn’t they remember being a kid, and how wonderful it felt on a hot summer day? The porch had three different climbing roses, that made their way up the three sides. There was a yellow one on the right, as you sat facing out on the porch. A large red rose climber, filled the front, with a light pink one to the left. They seemed more fragrant when it rained, leaving the porch filled with their sweet, aroma. How does one explain it all, ‘the feeling’, to someone who has not had the pleasure of it all?
    Love your porch, my dear Deborah, enjoy it.

    HUGS
    ‘D’

  4. August 14, 2011 12:59 pm

    I could sit on your porch and look at that view all day as well. Thank you for showing us the real beauty of NJ. And reminding me that friendship is one of God’s greatest gifts.

    xoxo michele

  5. August 14, 2011 1:08 pm

    Sooo lovely Deborah! I know it is a joy to live in a home rich with history! Love that you leave your decor up through Labor day.

    I also love your after dinner activity! Beats that danged old idiot box as my Dad would call it!!

    Hugs and love to you!
    Becky

  6. August 14, 2011 1:41 pm

    This post makes me just sigh. What a lovely comfortable picture you paint.

    I love your porch details and of course your tribute to our wonderful country.

    I especially loved your “and the sun kisses the sky goodnight”… just wonderful.

    Hugs GF
    Claudia

  7. August 14, 2011 1:56 pm

    Absolutely breathtaking… what a grand porch and oh my, the view!! Thank you for sharing this with us, for those of us who do not have such a porch!

  8. August 14, 2011 2:37 pm

    I swear that you have the absolute hands down most beautiful porch in all of blogland. I just love it. Every time that you post a picture of it I sit here drooling over it. I just love it all dressed up in it’s summer finery. I do the same to the farmhouse, but it is nothing compared to yours. Love the bunting over the steps. Did you make that?

  9. August 14, 2011 4:24 pm

    This was a perfect, outstanding post! Can I just say “WOW” ?

  10. Dee permalink
    August 14, 2011 4:28 pm

    Oh Deborah ~ I AM envious. How I have always dreamed of such a haven as the front porch at The Fairfield House. It sounds just perfect. Dream a little dream for me tonight on the porch. Your friend – Dee

  11. August 14, 2011 5:37 pm

    Your home is so beautiful and so peaceful! I long for a home such as that! I have cactus and rocks! 😦
    Your quote is one of my very favorites!
    Take care,
    Margo

  12. August 14, 2011 9:03 pm

    Your home is fabulous! I love the chippy paint, and I’m learning to embrace my own as well. I think it makes it look more relaxed – I love it that your porch is open – our’s was enclosed sometime in the 1940’s – and I miss the charm of the open porch. You are blessed my friend! And I’m so glad you know it. : -)

  13. August 15, 2011 7:14 am

    Gorgeous pictures, thanks for sharing! I love the idea of sitting out with no words just the amazing serene beauty would be words enough!

    Meg

  14. August 15, 2011 8:30 am

    I love your porch area. My porch is blahhh. I’ll be right over to share a cup of tea and a chat. 🙂

  15. August 15, 2011 8:47 am

    Your porch is just perfect! I’m so glad your house has you and your husband for occupants.

  16. August 15, 2011 10:46 am

    Hey sweet girl! 🙂 Glad you liked my camera strap..I had a blast making it!
    Your home is absolutely gorgeous! I have seen pics before, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen up close on your porch..it’s just oozing with vintage charm! (just my kind!)
    Love you lady!
    Hey are you going to Haven? I was going to go, but now I don’t think I’ll be able to afford it…we have lots of storm damage, from some nasty storms that went through on Friday. 😦

  17. August 15, 2011 1:03 pm

    Deborah,

    Your front porch view is breathtaking. Fairfield House is beautiful and full of charm, but you are the reason I love it there so much! Wishin’ I could sit and talk on the porch for a while.
    Looking forward to seeing F.H. getting cozy for the fall and winter.

    Rhonda

  18. August 15, 2011 6:16 pm

    OMGOODNESS! I sooo want to come take “the nickel tour” and then hang out with you on your gorgeous porch with a cup of tea, enjoying the company and the view!!!
    Your home is lovely!
    Hugs,
    Susan

  19. August 16, 2011 1:41 pm

    Deborah, What a beautiful front porch you have. I love all of the details of an old home. Lovely view too.

  20. August 16, 2011 4:04 pm

    Hi Deborah — love your porch & your site. Thanks for commenting my glass shutters & visiting my site. I’ve added you to my RSS list & will visit regularly. Absolutely LOVE your posting schedule, hee hee.
    dawnedesign.net

  21. August 16, 2011 8:38 pm

    I can’t even imagine how lovely your home and your view is.

    I am relatively new to your blog, and I am off to read more posts!

    Laura
    White Spray Paint

  22. August 18, 2011 4:42 am

    beautiful.

  23. August 18, 2011 9:46 am

    Deborah,
    I know how you feel – I love my porch too! It’s nice to see that someone else house needs a little paint touch up as well. I thought we just did it but as with everything in an old house… it never ends!
    Have a great weekend,
    Kathy

  24. August 18, 2011 1:03 pm

    Oh the porch! I had one as a child growing up. It pains me that there no longer seems to be porches or the grand activities that accompanied them any longer.

  25. Lori permalink
    August 19, 2011 3:37 pm

    What a fabulous place to watch a sunset! Love your porch, mine it tiny and sure doesn’t have your view.

  26. August 19, 2011 9:54 pm

    Enchanting is what comes to mind for me as I read your post.
    The view of the field you have pictured is so beautiful. I would love to sit and listen to the afternoon breeze rustle through the growth, peaceful.
    I noticed the open window on your porch and it reminded me of the house I was raised in. It had a long wooden front porch with floor to ceiling windows. While my sisters and I would play on the porch, we always knew when dinner was ready. Mom always made home made rolls and we could always smell them cooking from the window. Your post brought back some great memories for me , I love your home and so much enjoy reading everything you share on your blog.
    Warm Wishes,
    Betsy

  27. August 20, 2011 1:11 pm

    Deborah
    your porch is fabulous, chippy paint, red, white and blue decor and all! There is nothing better then relaxing on “the porch” and enjoying the beauty of nature! It really makes me miss my house in the country in NC, it was a old Queen Ann style farmhouse with a wrap around porch and tin roof. When it rained there was no better place to be, swinging, listening to the sound and enjoying the view! Thanks for visiting, I will be back!
    Rebecca

  28. August 22, 2011 7:27 pm

    Deborah,
    I read this post when it first came through on my phone, but couldn’t see the images. I wanted to wait to comment to see the photos from my home computer. I’m so glad I did! WOW, what a peaceful view you have from your front porch! We have old concrete steps in front of or house and we’ve contemplated building a porch right over the top of them. The problem is . . . our view is a bunch of run-down brick apartments! So . . . we’re still debating on what to do with those steps and the front of our house! Your house is one I’ve dreamt of owning for many years (as you know). It’s charming and beautiful!

  29. August 23, 2011 8:45 pm

    Your porch is amazing…and the view, too! I just love how there is so much *beefiness* to all of the wood in old houses!
    Rene

  30. August 25, 2011 12:44 pm

    DEBORAH!
    Will you be evacuating?
    Don’t make me sit up Saturday night worrying about you!!!!!
    You can always come here for refuge. 😛
    Cass

  31. August 27, 2011 10:23 am

    I adore your porch….it absolutely lovely. I have trouble decorating my porch…therefore it’s usually empty. It’s a wrap around porch…and just plain intimidates me.

Leave a Reply

