Skip to content

Time Machine

June 23, 2011
by

“Reckless automobile driving arouses the suspicion that much of the horse sense of the good old days was possessed by the horse.” ~ Unknown

While out on errands, I pulled into a parking lot and my eyes fell upon this sweet ride. 1928 Model 27 Buick Unfortunately,  I left the house without my supercalifragilisticexpialidocious camera and had to rely on my cell phone for photographs. The 5th owner, John Matish, told me that every part of 1928 Model 27 Buick is original. Hmm, so this car’s designer actually HAD a plan for an automobile that outlasted its payments! 1928 Model 27 Buick I was surprised to learn that the frame is made of wood with sheet metal nailed to it by men that were cabinet makers and likely veterans of the First World War. It also features hard wood floors. 1928 Model 27 Buick An inspection sticker from 1949 remained in one window. The car was due again for inspection in December, 1950. And Thomas thought I was a scofflaw for having an overdue inspection sticker on my vehicle for five years. What can I say? I’ve got things to do, people to see, blog posts to write… 1928 Model 27 BuickLooking at the car made me consider what life was like in 1928.

  • There were 106,521,537 people in the United States (today there are 311,617,000).
  • Eighty-three years ago the average life expectancy for men was 53.6 years and for women 54.6 years.
  • The literacy rate reached a new low of 6 percent of the population.
  • The average annual income was $1236
  • The Dow Jones hit a high of 100.
  • There were only 387,000 miles of paved road in the U.S.
  • Gas was 21 cents per gallon
  • The electric shaver was patented
  • The Woolworth Building in New York was the tallest building in the world at 791 feet.
  • Mickey Mouse first appeared in “Steamboat Willy”.
  • Maidenform was founded by Ida Rosenthal, the company defined familiar bra sizes like A, B, C & D.
  • Alexander Fleming discovered penicillin.
  • Amelia Earhart became the first woman to fly east across the Atlantic Ocean.

1928 Model 27 Buick

—————-

Linking  to:

Common Ground’s Vintage Inspiration Friday 

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Dee permalink
    June 23, 2011 10:28 pm

    Hi Deborah ~ What a beauty! And made to last. I wonder what the average gas price was then ~ LOL. Every time I need to sink $80+ into my Tahoe for gas, I swear Im just gonna go out and get me a horse. Have a great week ~ Dee

  2. June 23, 2011 11:00 pm

    Hi darlin– what a lovely post this is.

    Can you imagine what good ol Henry Ford would think of all the color of cars now days? (remember the selections were any color you wanted as long as it was BLACK)

    It is pretty remarkable that your phone could take these photos. Just think about this… 🙂 I do recall years ago when some silly person said in class one day… “some day you will be able to call someone and have them see you!! ca

    I was certain they were totally crazy.

    Great post!

    Claudia

  3. June 23, 2011 11:02 pm

    They sure don’t make ’em like they used to. I was recently going through some postcards from my attic. Several mentioned how scary it was riding in cars for the first time!

  4. June 24, 2011 4:36 am

    VERY COOL CAR and cool post! very interesting 🙂
    a lot of cars in the UK had wood frames, I am not so sure if it was standard practice here or not. I’ll have to ask Ron. He used to own a Ford Model A which was altered and purple as he used to drag race it. That was in his late teens early 20s (married to wife #1(1963, i think), in the late to mid 60’s)

    Great read 🙂 thanks My friend!
    Susan

  5. June 24, 2011 7:30 am

    How cool is THAT?! All the men would be ooohing and ahhhing over it.

  6. June 24, 2011 9:44 am

    They don’t make anything to last like they used to, when money was harder to come by than it is now.
    What a lucky person to own such a wonderful car!
    Have a great weekend!

  7. June 24, 2011 10:12 am

    What a treat to read on this Friday morning! Thank you my friend! xoxo C

  8. June 24, 2011 11:09 am

    Sweet quote & post! My dad tells me the best stories from his childhood – he was born in 1925! 🙂
    Wishing you a great weekend, Deborah!
    ~ Zuzu

  9. June 24, 2011 2:53 pm

    Popping over to say hello for the “Blog Party”!This car is so dreamy to me! xoox, tracie

  10. Barb Rose permalink
    June 25, 2011 8:23 am

    Awesome. That’s a brave owner to drive it around and park it where he did. I’d be very nervous with such an old car, and one that is in such great condition. Thanks for sharing!

  11. June 25, 2011 7:51 pm

    Wow! What a car! It saddens me that things just aren’t made with the care and precision that once was — trim on houses, automobiles and even appliances! Some of my best kitchen gadgets are old school and you couldn’t pay me to get a newer version! Great post. Gas . . . 21 cents?! Craziness.

  12. June 26, 2011 1:53 pm

    Hi Deborah ~
    What a cool car! And I love all the ‘life back then’quotes! Speaking of old cars ~ The Gentleman Farmer is at a Yesteryear Car Show trying to sell his 1977 (nearly) restored F150 4X4 pickup truck. I am about to go see (his) and all the other sweet rides!
    Thanks for droppin’ in at my blog and leaving such a nice comment. Nice to meet you!
    Summer Blessings!

  13. June 27, 2011 8:31 am

    Deborah,
    I love that car! Wouldn’t it look great outside of our houses??? I don’t think I could talk Matt into buying anything else that needed to be fixed. I didn’t even know they inspected cars back then.

    Hope your summer is going well!
    Kathy

  14. June 27, 2011 10:22 am

    The first thing I thought of when I saw this lovely old car was the Tin Lizzy – that was Ford though, I think.
    It always makes my heart happy when I pass an old car on the road. It’s almost like we zip back in time for a second.
    Loved reading everything that was going on in ’28.

    Hope your week brings you good things!
    Rhonda

  15. June 28, 2011 10:40 am

    Deborah I loved reading the stats, wow I guess I would be in Heaven by now!!

    xoxo
    Karena
    Art by Karena

    I have a New, very fashionable Giveaway on my site! Come and enter!

  16. June 28, 2011 2:22 pm

    That is very cool, and what a surprise to come across in the parking lot!

  17. July 1, 2011 9:10 pm

    Oh isn’t that a beauty?

Leave a Reply

