Skip to content

Timeless Treasures

May 18, 2011
by

“The bee emerging from deep within the peony departs reluctantly” ~ Matsuo Basho

It is impossible for one to live where I do and not believe in God. Even during months such as this one when forecasts seem to consist entirely of the words “mostly cloudy, scattered showers, and isolated thunderstorms” you realize it serves His purpose.
Peony Field

Beauty abounds, acre by acre. Gifts for the soul.
Pink Peony
It’s hard to be as melancholy as the weather when there are fresh cut peonies in the house. Each room is treated to it’s own vase full of farm-fresh flowers.

White Peonies

The peonies are perfection, unmatched in femininity. The subtle fragrance taps you on the shoulder and invites you to dance in daydreams of blue skies and white cotton candy clouds.

Peony Vase

This old authentic industrial chair is a new addition to the Fairfield House kitchen. I purchased it locally from someone who didn’t realize what a treasure it is.

Peony Chair

I discovered the vintage bottle at Goodwill. It features the name of our town.

Bottled Peony

Have you been treating your senses to life’s simple pleasures?

Red Peony

Don’t forget to enter my Cottage Charm Give-Away!

Linking to:

White Wednesday 100th Post at Faded Charm.

Treasures and Trinkets at My Cottage Charm

Blue Creek Home Treasure Hunt Thursday

Centsational Girl’s Out Door Idea Party

Common Ground’s Vintage Inspiration Friday

36 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 9:31 pm

    Deborah,
    The Peonies seem more beautiful to me this year. The bushes are so full, we had to add stakes to hold the blossoms up. Even our Peony Tree is fuller than it’s ever been. As beautiful as they are, I can not think of them without thinking of the ants that were always found on my grandfather’s. There was a walkway, in his garden, which was lined with Peonies, I would often see him yelling at the ants and gently brushing them off the petals. He always picked a few of the blossoms, and bring a bouquet in for my grandmother.
    I have an arrangement of hot, pink silk ones in our bedroom; I never tire of them. ;<)

  2. May 18, 2011 9:32 pm

    You always write the most beautiful posts. Your pictures are just gorgeous. Loving all the flowers and the sneak peak of your house. Love that chair! That really is a find! May your days be filled with lots of love, laughter and flowers!

  3. May 18, 2011 9:43 pm

    Your flowers are gorgeous!!! My Mother told me she had peonies in her wedding bouquet (in the 40’s). I’m sure it smelled just wonderful, as yours do. I love your photos. Best to you!

  4. Kate(starr family) permalink
    May 18, 2011 10:06 pm

    How gorgeous! I love these pictures… Flowers have an amazing power to lift you up! Great post!

  5. May 18, 2011 11:03 pm

    Oh sweet darlin! I love peonies — ALMOST as much as Lilacs.

    You really have an eye for timeless treasures!

    Hope you enjoy the wonderful flowers — I used to have a wonderful bush with these but every time I brought some in ANTS were everywhere …i never figured out how to cut them and get rid of the ants 🙂

    Hugs!
    Claudia

  6. May 19, 2011 5:56 am

    oh how i love peonies! i hope to grow some of my own someday; and you are so right; even though the weather is dreary, i try to keep my chin up and know there is a purpose! LOVE your chair and bottle; what great finds!
    have a BEAUTIFUL week, even if it’s sunshine in your heart and not outside! 🙂
    Jen

  7. May 19, 2011 6:11 am

    I love peonies & the photos are gorgeous! I can just smell them now.

  8. May 19, 2011 6:45 am

    Hey sweet girl! 🙂 I’m so glad you posted this…these are my absolute favorite flowers in the world..God really outdid himself on these! I have one pink one out front, but the deep burgandies and whites ones are beautiful too. I can’t imagine living where there are rows and rows of them blooming..you’re a blessed gal! 🙂
    OH and I LOVE that old chair..someone didn’t realize what they had in that! Lucky YOU! 🙂
    love ya lady
    Missy

  9. May 19, 2011 7:21 am

    Love, love the peonies, so beautiful indeed!!
    I am sure they smell just wonderful.
    The bottle is great.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Michele

  10. Terri permalink
    May 19, 2011 7:42 am

    Good Morning!! the flowers are just beautiful!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!! and yes…. I did treat myself to Life’s Simple Pleasures….while at a graduation in Maryville Tennessee… we did day trips up to the mountains…… cloudy skies and soft rain….. the Smokey Mountains are amazing….no matter what the weather forecast!! soooooooo peaceful!!!!!! God is an amazing architect!!!! Have a blessed day, Terri

  11. May 19, 2011 9:11 am

    Your flowers are so gorgeous, Deb!! I just love Peonies! They are one of my favorite flowers. I’m surprised that I haven’t planted any in my garden yet.
    Our weather here has been a little strange, too. About ten degrees cooler than normal, and a lot more rain than normal. But this week has been lovely. 75 degrees today, and 77 tommorrow. We’re gonna get out and enjoy that glorious sunshine today, even though I got burned to a crisp yesterday! 🙂
    Hope you have a great day!
    Beth.

  12. May 19, 2011 10:50 am

    Wow! You have a lot to cut! I have very few, but they are one of my very favorite flowers! So pretty!
    Would love some tips from you 🙂
    xoxo~ Michelle

  13. May 19, 2011 10:59 am

    Oh, how beautiful!!! And I love how you display them, Deborah – gorgeous! Spring is gently unfolding here between snowstorms. 🙂

    Enjoy!
    ~ Zuzu

  14. May 19, 2011 11:51 am

    I just love, love, love peonies and I wish they were rebloomers. Yours are beautiful. That chair is awsome and you are right, they did not know what they had, and I bet you paid less than what Restoration Hardware would sell for a repro. Thanks for all of your visits, sorry I have not been able to get back to chat. Alaina

  15. May 19, 2011 12:36 pm

    Wow! So many beautiful peonies! I have about 12 of them in my garden, and love watching them bloom and filling my house with their delicious scent! Love that sweet little stool, too! Adorable! I am truly enjoying your blog! 🙂

    xoxo laurie

  16. May 19, 2011 3:33 pm

    Gorgeous flowers and I LOVE your industrial chair!!!!!

  17. May 19, 2011 7:25 pm

    I want to let you know that I’m marking this in my memory. I didn’t know that peonies were this powerful of a flower. But if the wrote that they are, “unmatched in femininity”, then I believe it – and the next time I need to give a flower, it’ll be a peony. I hearted your pictures – lots – and your reminder to remember the simple things and take pleasure in them. Thank you. God bless and keep you and all of yours.

  18. May 19, 2011 8:01 pm

    Such beautiful flowers. And a fun find at the Goodwill. I agree with you – beauty draws me to the Creator.

    Fondly,
    Glenda (#206)

    Gg – Notes on the Journey

  19. May 20, 2011 9:26 am

    Heavenly….. I have zero luck with peonies…. So wish I did.

    Blessings,
    Spencer

  20. May 20, 2011 2:19 pm

    Peonies are my absolute favorite!!! Thanks for linking up to VIF!
    xo Debra

  21. May 20, 2011 9:52 pm

    Hi friend,

    I continue to be amazed at how beautifully you describe things. You say so much with just a few words and you make me smile.
    Your chair and peony arrangement are breathtaking and I am so glad you shared them at Treasure Hunt Thursday.
    Rhonda

  22. Anonymous permalink
    May 21, 2011 12:13 am

    Beautiful. I love peonies and sadly it doesn’t get cold enough here to grown them…yours are so beautiful. Lovely post.

  23. May 23, 2011 9:26 am

    Hi Deborah,
    The peonies are beautiful and you’ve displayed and captured their beauty perfectly. I have two peonie plants and they haven’t bloomed yet this year. I’m looking forward to it . . . but in my experience, the blooms don’t last that long 😦 I discovered that the deer don’t eat them, so we’ve purchased a couple more! That chair is gorgeous!!!

  24. May 23, 2011 6:28 pm

    what lovely pictures and how wonderful to find that vintage bottle at Goodwill. whenever i go to the US i love stopping by the goodwill stores around the area i’m visiting. you never know what you’ll find! thanks for sharing!
    hugs,
    peggy aplSEEDS

  25. May 24, 2011 5:06 pm

    You know, I don’t think that I have ever seen peonies with my own two eyes. Pictures? Yes, real ones? no. There ought to be a law!

    Right now, my garden is bursting with Cosmos and tomatoes. There was some lettuce, but the bunnies and squirrels took care of that:( As soon as I figure out how to take care fo the pesky varmints, I will get back to Wit.

  26. May 25, 2011 1:38 pm

    Sometimes I have to sit back and just read your posts in total awe. I was contemplating doing a post very similar to this! Being that I live in Florida- not only have I never seen snow- but I had never seen peonies since they are mostly a northern grown flower.

    Secretly they have been my favorite flower, but I always thought it was a bit silly to mark something as favorite just based on appearance so I never told anyone!

    We you can only imagine my surprise when I was the the grocery store and they had a few bundles of Peonies amongst the dozens of roses! I snatched up all of the bouquets they had and took them home!

    The best part is- they are so much better then I imagined. Enjoy them while they last my friend, I know I will be doing the same. 🙂

  27. May 25, 2011 4:19 pm

    Love Peonies! I planted a couple and they have yet to bloom.

    Beautiful post!

  28. May 25, 2011 11:08 pm

    Beautiful peonies, Deborah! I bet they smell wonderful! Loving the antique chair and those charming containers! So inspiring!

  29. May 28, 2011 8:12 am

    My goodness do you have a green thumb. Oh those peonies. Please add the sniff button to your blog posts. 🙂

  30. May 28, 2011 12:37 pm

    Your flowers are GORGEOUS Friend…absolutely stunning! Thanks so much for sharing them & your joy for the amazing Victorians in NJ!!
    Hugs,
    Susie

  31. May 29, 2011 6:19 am

    Deborah,

    I truly enjoyed the visit. Your blog is lovely and soulful.
    Thank you too for the warm kind sentiments.
    I’ll be back!

  32. May 29, 2011 9:37 pm

    I love peonies!! I’m planting 3 varieties this year! (if it ever warms up here!) Hopefully next year I’ll be filling my home with them as well!!

  33. June 1, 2011 7:44 am

    I love your peonies! I need another peony plant in bright pink. Beautiful! And as for that chair – what a find. Hope you are doing well. It seems as though we had weeks of rain here in Virginia with some nice temps in between, but now it’s full-blown summer. Hope you are staying cool.
    Maureen

  34. June 1, 2011 3:30 pm

    Your flowers are SO BEAUTIFUL!! I hope I can someday get my garden to look like yours, but I have a long long way to go. Thanks for sharing those beautiful blooms with us!

  35. June 1, 2011 8:16 pm

    so beautiful

  36. June 16, 2011 10:24 am

    Your peonies are gorgeous….and that chais is amazing!

Leave a Reply

