Skip to content

Easter Mantle and a Chance

April 24, 2011
by

Where man sees but withered leaves, God sees sweet flowers growing. ~ Albert Laighton

Mantle

Happy Easter! I wanted to share my Easter mantel with you, albeit late. I used vintage jars and filled them with Easter treats. I tied a bow around each with a tag.
I was inspired by Zuzu’s (of Cottage in the Woods) pinterest.  The cross was made by Thomas’ father.

Jars

Rabbit Jar

Jar

MM Jar

The silver antique egg cup features a bird perched on a wish bone alongside half an eggshell with the words “Best Wishes” engraved across
it.

Egg Cup

The Happy Easter sign was purchased from French Bleu Vintage.

Happy Easter

The petite box was decorated and given to me by Laura of Decor to Adore.

Petite Box

The vintage porcelain rabbit was a treasure hunt find.

Porcelain Rabbit

The flowers are from The Fairfield House yard.

FH Flowers

To celebrate the day, I will give a $25 Visa Card to the first person who guesses how many M&Ms are in the smallest jar.

MM Jar2

If you don’t have a blog, be sure to include your e-mail address. Good Luck!

I wish you all a wonderful Easter.

———-

Linking to:

My Cottage Charm

Serenity Now

Wit Behind the Ears

Southern Hospitality

My Romantic Home

Funky Junk Interiors

52 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 2:28 pm

    Hey sweet girl! 🙂 I LOVE your mantel…and it’s not late, it’s just in time! I just love all your silver pieces and your vintage jars..you and I could definitely shop together! hee hee hee OK..I’m guessing there are 256 m&m’s in the little jar…seemed like a nice random number. 🙂
    Thanks for linking up to my party…I smiled when I saw Fairfield House. 🙂
    Love you much girl!
    HUGS!!
    Missy

  2. Cindi permalink
    April 24, 2011 2:51 pm

    “Happy Easter!”
    Your mantel is gorgeous and oh so Eastery and Springy…
    I will guess that there are 302 M&M’s in your little jar!
    Many thanks to you…Cindi

  3. April 24, 2011 3:01 pm

    I love your mantle. All of the jars look awesome.

    I’m guessing 150.

  4. Jennifer permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:15 pm

    Your mantle is making me hungry! 🙂 Happy Easter Deborah; He is RISEN!!
    I’m no good at the guessing games…thinking 126? Probably way off the mark!
    Have a beautiful week!

  5. April 24, 2011 3:32 pm

    What a sweet mantel! Happy Easter dear friend! I’m going to guess 129 M&M’s.

  6. April 24, 2011 3:38 pm

    The mantle is very pretty! The flowers from your yard are GORGEOUS!!

    Happy Spring to you and yours,
    Susan

  7. Tyler permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:45 pm

    I think there are 138 M&Ms in the small jar.

  8. Amanda permalink
    April 24, 2011 3:47 pm

    I guess 142

  9. April 24, 2011 3:52 pm

    I love the way you decorated your mantel! There would be no M&Ms in our jar, we’d have eaten them all by now. But really, I think there are 184 M&Ms in the small jar.

  10. April 24, 2011 4:13 pm

    Deborah,
    My guess would be 165 and I love your decorations! Can you believe I didn’t put any Easter Decorations out? It’s been a blur the last two weeks! Kids are back to school tomorrow so maybe I can take 5 minutes out for myself and just breath.

    Hope you and the Mister had a wonderful Easter!
    xoxoxo,
    Kathy

  11. April 24, 2011 5:45 pm

    Deborah, HAPPY EASTER. 🙂

    I love what you’ve done with your mantel. That kind of decorating comes from the heart. I just don’t know how you find the time, with working. Although I’ve often said that I did more when I worked a full time job, than what I do now. I’m lucky that I got the flowers for our church done, I was so cold working in the church garage, where I make the arrangements up. This is the time of year that a lot of changes go on in the church, so my house decorations are sparse.:(

    We just got back from dinner, but took the long way home; the back roads. ;<) All of the trees, that have blossoms, are so much fuller this year, especially the Dogwood Trees. I'm not a 'pale pink or lavender person', but I "ooowwed and aaahhed" with every Dogwood I saw, even the PINK ones. ;o) and the Wisteria too. Our Wisteria has just begun to get leaves on it. ?????

    I wasn't going to take a guess on the M&M"s, but 211 is my 'special' number, so I'll give that a try. Notice I didn't write 'lucky' #.
    May GOD BLESS YOU AND YOURS and may PEACE BE WITH YOU.

    Hugs
    'D'

    Hugs

  12. April 24, 2011 5:54 pm

    Happy Easter, Deborah!

    I love your Easter mantel. The decorated box from Decore to Adore is so cute!

    There are exactly 192 M&Ms in the jar!

    FUN!!!
    Rhonda

  13. April 24, 2011 6:26 pm

    Hi Deborah! Happy Easter! I love your mantel. It’s beautiful. Imani is guessing 98 m&Ms. How fun! Best, Stephenie

  14. April 24, 2011 6:41 pm

    How pretty! Happy Easter my friend! I’m guessing 163

  15. Laura permalink
    April 24, 2011 7:37 pm

    I am guessing 111 m&m’s. Hope you have a happy Easter. Your mantle is beautiful!

  16. April 24, 2011 7:58 pm

    Happy Easter! Before I forget, I guess that there are 78 M&Ms.

    Your mantel is so heartwarming, which is perfect for a mantel! I didn’t decorate at all for the holiday and looking at what you did finally brought it all home as to why I didn’t feel like it was Easter today. Epic Fail, but there is always next year. Thanks for the inspiration:)

  17. April 24, 2011 8:17 pm

    Such beautiful jars! I love the idea of the ribbon trim and vintage tag.
    I’m guessing 87 M&M’s in the jar.

  18. April 24, 2011 8:24 pm

    I enjoyed looking at your mantel. I love the vintage jars full of goodies. I am guessing that there are 234 m & m’s in the small jar. The wooden cross is beautiful. Inspiring decorations!

  19. Cheryl permalink
    April 24, 2011 8:47 pm

    HI Deborah,
    I just love all of your filled jars with tags…such a cute display idea. Thanks so much for sharing your photos…great eye-candy! I just found your blog and am glad I did. Hope you had a wonderful Easter,
    Cheryl

  20. April 24, 2011 8:49 pm

    Me again! Forgot to add my website on the first Comment. Guess now that I found your blog you just can’t get me to go away!
    Cheryl

  21. April 24, 2011 10:46 pm

    Your Easter decorations are wonderful! I love how you put the sweet treats in the glass jars and the darling tags! I’ll guess 163.

    So you shared our dance with your friends, too funny! Glad I could be your Easter entertainment

  22. April 24, 2011 10:52 pm

    Oh my dear sweet goodness! I love the vintage labels and the arrangement. Well done!

  23. April 24, 2011 11:05 pm

    I love your whimsical Easter decor. Everything is beautiful!

    Thanks for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. Hope you had a lovely Easter! 🙂

  24. April 25, 2011 8:02 am

    I bet there were 232 M&Ms in that cute jar! Your mantel is lovely and the cross is so beautiful. I hope your Easter was wonderful. Anne

  25. April 25, 2011 8:50 am

    My guess is 89 M&M’s.
    Love your blog! Love this post!

  26. April 25, 2011 9:39 am

    This is lovely! Love all the tags and vintage-y items! Too pretty to put away after Easter — maybe switch out the candy and bunnies with spring items — I sure wouldn’t want to put this all away now!

  27. April 25, 2011 10:43 am

    Talk about a sweet treat! You do indeed know how to elevate the ordinary to extraordinary.

    Now, let’s talk about that egg cup. My heart is all aflutter. Love.

    My guess for the M & M jar is zero because I ate them all. 🙂

  28. Katherine DeVary permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:08 am

    Everything is so beautiful!!!! I am taking a guess of 140 M & M’s. Thank you!!!

  29. melesa garrison permalink
    April 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    Beautiful Easter deco! I’m guessing 205 M&M’s????

  30. April 25, 2011 4:32 pm

    How pretty, Deborah! I love your Easter mantel all decked out for Spring. So pretty & love that you included some thrifty finds too. I’m gonna guess 32. 🙂 xoxo

  31. Margaret permalink
    April 25, 2011 5:13 pm

    lovely mantle. I need to remember the cross for next year. My mother-in-law tats beautiful ones and I could easily frame one. My guess for the M&M’s is 468.

  32. April 25, 2011 9:09 pm

    Hi Deborah! Your mantle is so charming! I spy a little pedestal I am familiar with! Love how you have used it!! You have such a lovely touch when it comes to decor! And I love the flowers!! Gorgeous!!

    My guess for the M & Ms is 196!!
    Hugs to you!
    Hope your week is wonderful, my friend!
    Becky

  33. April 25, 2011 11:14 pm

    Hi Deborah! Thank you for stopping by my blog today, I’m glad you did. I so adore your mantel!! Lovely!
    Vintage Easter decor is my favorite. As for the M&Ms…159!

  34. April 26, 2011 1:40 am

    Lovely idea for your jars. My guess is 148 M & M’s

  35. April 26, 2011 5:48 am

    What a lovely beautiful blog and home you have. Everything is so pretty. Newest follower. Now I want to go snoop around a bit.
    Cindy

  36. April 26, 2011 6:03 am

    What a lovely mantel. Everything looks so much better and extra special when put in a glass jar, doesn’t it.
    No idea about the M&M’s but they sure do look delicious.

  37. Terri permalink
    April 26, 2011 7:51 am

    the mantle is just beautiful!!!! love the idea with the vintage jars….. and I am just going to throw out a random number of M&M’s…. and say 191

  38. April 26, 2011 8:52 am

    Love your vintage jar idea! We are starting a button jar and one with old dominos and dice 🙂
    We followed you over from ‘Cottage State of Mind’….your pictures are great!

    Wyatt and Wyatt’s Mom

    P.S. we guess 101 M&M’s !!

  39. April 26, 2011 10:41 am

    Everything is so pretty, Deborah!!! The ribbons and tags on the jars really came out beautiful! 🙂
    Happy week to you, my friend!
    ~ Zuzu

  40. Dawn permalink
    April 26, 2011 3:50 pm

    I love the Easter jars with the tags. I don’t know what it is about tags but they get to me! After madly calculating M & M size and jar volume I’m guessing 148. I’m sure it was 150 but suspect you might have tested a few of them.

  41. Emily Princess permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:08 pm

    350

  42. Andre the great permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:09 pm

    220

  43. April 26, 2011 6:34 pm

    316! John 3:16 For God so loved the world that he have his only son that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

    That’s my guess and that’s my reason for guessing it. haha

    Our computers were hit by lightening. I have access for a moment so I dropped in to say hello. Happy Belated Easter my friend.

  44. April 26, 2011 6:59 pm

    Your decorations are simply delicious looking. I am going to guess 351. Have a wonderful week. Alaina

  45. April 26, 2011 9:43 pm

    Deobrah honey I have never seen such a lovely mantle display for Easter. These are just too adorable. How creative you are and glad you shared these with us.
    Thanks so much for the sweet comment about my daughter. I am still in shock that this happened to her.
    I was really sorry to read that it happened to you in high school. I think this is something one never gets over and I am so sorry for both of you.
    I so apprecite you
    Love
    Maggie

  46. April 26, 2011 11:37 pm

    Your Easter-y mantle is gorgeous 🙂 Really appreciate you sharing this great post with us at the Creative Bloggers’ Party & Hop.

  47. April 27, 2011 10:56 am

    Oh, and there are 208 m&ms in the jar. 🙂
    Hugs,
    Zuzu

  48. April 27, 2011 12:17 pm

    Hi, Deborah! Thanks for letting me know about this giveaway 🙂 I’d say 100 M&Ms.

  49. Dee Ann Allen permalink
    April 27, 2011 1:18 pm

    Such Pretty things in your house. I just love to look at everyone’s blog, even though I do not have one. I have been collecting for years. I am inspired by your “look”.

  50. April 27, 2011 2:38 pm

    I absolutely love the jar with the black and white ribbon on the silver cake stand.

  51. April 29, 2011 10:07 am

    What a sweet – literally – Spring/Easter mantle! Love the jars – I am guessing 222 M & Ms.
    Thanks for this fun giveaway,
    Kathy

  52. April 30, 2011 12:47 pm

    Excellent use of vintage jars! You’ll be happy to know I have postcards displayed in mine. 🙂

    Speaking of…I picked up two cards for you in OG at the postcard show last weekend! They are not as fabulous as “Harry…” but they are pretty good. I thought I had your address but somehow I don’t (or can’t find). Will have to email you!

Leave a comment