Skip to content

Snowbodies Home

January 14, 2011
by

For it was the first snow of the season. And as any child can tell you, there’s a certain magic that comes with the very first snow, especially when it falls on the day before Christmas. For when the first snow is also a Christmas snow…
Well, something wonderful is bound to happen. ~ Romeo Muller, Frosty The Snowman Movie


I’ve been house-bound with the flu since Christmas and unable to go outside and enjoy the snow. So, I decided to invite some men in to chill with me. I’ve created my winterscape using a collection of snowmen with antique silver and mercury glass as pedestals. Blooming paperwhites anchor each end.

mantle_snowmen

snow_family

snowman_baby

snowmen_2

big_snowman

snowmen

silver

snowmen_shovel

Participating in

The Stories of A2Z Winter Mantel Party

Whispering Wood Cottage 2011 1st Project of the Year Party

All Things Inspired at All Things Heart and Home

Cottage Instinct’s Make it For Monday

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Anna Poole permalink
    January 14, 2011 9:35 pm

    Awesome mantel! The paperwhites are my favorite.
    And man the sidebar photo of your house is FABULOUS!

  2. January 14, 2011 9:53 pm

    Very pretty and wintery. I love the base that looks like a little cake made of paper.

  3. January 14, 2011 9:56 pm

    I totally love your mantle decorations with the jolly snowmen. The one holding a baby snowman made me laugh, soooo cute.
    Sorry to hear that you have been sick with the flu since Christmas.
    I agree with the previous comment – your home is FABULOUS!

  4. January 14, 2011 10:34 pm

    I love your men! Loving that mercury glass too. You did a great job even with the flu. I do hope that you are feeling better really soon. Too cold to go out anyways. I remember I did basic training at Fort Dix in February. Whew! It gets cold there. And yes, Deborah, major concensus is your home is FAHBULOUS DAHLING!

  5. January 15, 2011 12:38 am

    Snowbodies home! How clever! Your winterscaped mantel is so adorable, Deborah… I love little snowmen! I especially love the snowman in the last 5th and 6th photo with all his sparkle and glitter – he’s just too cute!

    I hope you are starting to mend and are feeling like yourself soon! xoxo!

    Much love,

    Kim

  6. January 15, 2011 4:06 am

    what a lovely collection! thanks for sharing it with us 🙂

    I am so sorry you still have the flu, are they sure that is what it is? that is a long time.
    prayers and positive energy coming your way, feel better soon!
    Hugs,
    Susan

  7. January 15, 2011 6:24 am

    Deborah, I love your mantel display of snowmen. I tool like to collect snowmen. My favorite is the middle guy. I love how white looks against mercury glass. I still have some of my snowmen and girls out too. It is snowing now as I type and I know it can last all the way to March. This is one of the reasons I love blogging, take me away from thinking of winter for a few more months.

  8. January 15, 2011 6:33 am

    I hope you are feeling better. Perhaps your snow”men” have taken the flu away from you; I hope so. If we were neighbors, I would bring you some chicken soup, and enough for the next day too.
    Be warm and feel better.
    P.S. I happen to love snowmen too, and your collection is absolutely lovely!

  9. January 15, 2011 8:01 am

    Those kind of men I can have hanging around all day long….!! I love your display 🙂

  10. January 15, 2011 9:31 am

    Those little snowbodies certainly brightened my day. I hope you’ll be feeling better soon! Take care.

  11. January 15, 2011 9:35 am

    Pretty!! I love all the white and Mercury Glass. And paperwhites!! I have been wanting to grown paperwhites, and just haven’t for some reason. I need to. They are just beautiful!
    I’m sorry you haven’t been feeling well. Glad to hear you are feeling better, though.
    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Beth.

  12. January 15, 2011 9:40 am

    Gorgeous! Who doesn’t love a good snowman? You have a wonderful collection and added with the mercury glass and paper whites makes it all the better! Hope you start feeling better. I sure hope you enjoyed Christmas and thank you for the card you sent. I’ve been meaning to thank you. For some reason I have been horrible at sending them out. Case in point they are still sitting on my kitchen counter!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Megan

  13. January 15, 2011 10:50 am

    I hope you are feeling better soon! I love your snowmen. My Dad started giving me the Lenox snowmen each year since 1996 but I like your collection better – they are all different! Hopefully you and the Mr. will be feeling better soon and can go out to play!

    Have a great weekend,
    Kathy

    p.s. I’m taking my Christmas tree down today – it’s about time!

  14. January 15, 2011 1:58 pm

    I’m sorry you have been sick — hope you feel better, soon! Your snowman vignette is so sweet. I especially like the little guy on the paper pedestal, with the little fan rosette. So cute. Thanks for stopping by House Revivals. I am so glad you liked the wreath!
    ~Amanda

  15. January 15, 2011 2:05 pm

    I love all of these adorable, sparkling snowmen Deborah! Are any of them antique? I sometimes see antique holiday ornaments in the antique shops I visit and always admire their history and beauty, though I’ve never actually purchased any. I also like the paper whites! I’ve been wanting to grow them, but haven’t tried any yet. Are they easy? Thanks for sharing your collection with us! Hope you’re well.

  16. January 15, 2011 5:00 pm

    Deborah, how awful to be inside with the flu this long. So sorry!

    The snowmen are so cute – at least you are surrounded by beautiful things while you convalesce.

    Get better, friend.

    Rhonda

  17. January 15, 2011 10:20 pm

    So sorry to hear that you’ve been sick for so long! But your snowmen are sure looking cute and cheery. Blessings and rest up!

  18. Becky permalink
    January 15, 2011 11:41 pm

    Your snowmen are so sweet. 🙂
    Feel better soon!! Last year, my family was sick off & on for THREE months straight- all winter. It was dreadful!

  19. January 15, 2011 11:47 pm

    Beautiful Deborah! I hope your feeling better soon. xoxo C

  20. January 16, 2011 7:53 am

    The mantle is gorgeous. I love your snowmen! I’m new to your wonderful blog-home and it’s sheer delight. I hope you have a moment to come back next Wednesday and link up some of your inspiration…

    And take care dear one…I hope every day brings you more strength and wellness…
    xo
    Robin
    All Things Heart and Home

  21. January 16, 2011 8:21 am

    Hi Deborah ~ Im sorry to hear how yucky you have been feeling. Hope you are 100%again soon. Its so cold outside but your lovely collection warms the soul ~ they look very happy. Dee XO

  22. January 16, 2011 10:51 am

    Adorable snowmen – and love the mercury glass too.

    Hope you feel better soon.

  23. January 16, 2011 2:37 pm

    Oh my goodness Deborah! Sick since Christmas? You poor thing. Take care of yourself and enjoy being indoors with your sweet snowmen. I love the combination of silver and mercury glass – so beautiful and wintery!
    xoxo,
    Kim

  24. January 17, 2011 12:41 pm

    So happy and pretty, Deborah! Do get to feeling better soon, my friend!
    Hugs,
    Zuzu

  25. January 17, 2011 11:16 pm

    I adore your Mantle Setup! Deborah, you truly have a talent with displaying things just the right way.

    I love those flowers in the pot, I usually grow them around Christmas time- but they don’t have the most pleasant smell do they?

    I hope you and T are doing well. -V

  26. January 18, 2011 11:05 pm

    hi Deborah….so sorry to hear you have had the flu since Christmas…but after just getting home from Jersey after being there for a whole month I am not surprised….I commented to daughter that everytime I went into a store I felt like everybody standing around me was sick….they all looked sick….I was surprised I made it out alive….LOL…the snow was crazy we got almost 30 inches where daughter lives…my poor VW Bug was completely covered except for a few inches of license plate…Just got all our mail today and thank you for the Christmas card…Hope other then the flu that your New Years is going well….It’s nice to be back home and sleeping in my own bed…a month of sleeping on a pull out sofa was too much for my 60 year old bones…
    Your mantel is adorable I love the big fat snowguy in the center….
    Sue…..

  27. Pondside permalink
    January 19, 2011 9:48 am

    I’m so sorry to read that you’ve been ill – I hope that you’ve been able to stay tucked in under a cosy quilt with lots of good things to read and lovely warm things to sip. Your winter mantel is a treat! Get well soon!

  28. January 20, 2011 8:29 am

    There is just something about snowmen that make me smile! I do hope you are well on your way to recovery dear friend.

  29. January 20, 2011 1:26 pm

    Deborah, so sorry you’ve been ailin’. I hope you are feeling better. It can be such a long drawn out process getting better sometimes. I adore your glitter snowmen and paperwhites. I’m hankering for cocoa and marshmallows now. If you lived closer, I’d pop over.

  30. January 24, 2011 4:14 pm

    How did I miss this post? I feel like I was just here and didn’t see it…Perhaps my brain was filled with snow. Which, this winter, is entirely possible.

    I love your glittery snowmen! I have some mercury glass that usually comes out this time of year, but I got a massive case of the lazies this winter. Or the “busies,” really…time’s just flying and flying!

    I hope you’re feeling much better…there’s nothing worse than battling the chills when the temperature’s as low as it has been.

    And by the way…I literally LOLd at your bennie comment on my blog. HA! (Is this not the right time to admit I was born in Staten Island? Talk about a Situation! 😉

  31. February 3, 2011 11:12 am

    i’m wild for snow men….they’re irresistible!

Leave a Reply

