Skip to content

Sun Kissed

November 18, 2010
by

The sun is but a morning star. ~ Henry David Thoreau, Walden

I opened my eyes this morning and this was the first thing I saw.

A gentle reminder that not all shadows are dark.

A simple lesson to let the light shine through and spread the beauty.

Participating in White Wednesday at Faded Charm.

Participating in Vintage Inspiration Friday at Common Ground.

Participating in Shadow Shot Sunday at Hey Harriet.

Participating in Tuesdays Unwrapped at Chatting at the Sky.

42 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2010 8:42 am

    Seems you have been inspired for today’s post. God bless.

  2. November 18, 2010 8:49 am

    Beautiful!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    November 18, 2010 8:59 am

    I love the lace that plays off the sunlight – so pretty!

  4. Anna Poole permalink
    November 18, 2010 9:21 am

    Yes, beautiful! I love the keys in the door! That little corner of your house looks like it is in such great shape for a 130 yr old! Did you have some areas of the house that were not in need of restoration or was that a spot you have tackled already?

  5. November 18, 2010 9:37 am

    Luh. Shuss. NESS!!!!
    Thank you for sharing this post with us.
    Lovely, lovely, lovely.

    Layla πŸ™‚

  6. Dee permalink
    November 18, 2010 9:41 am

    Oh so beautiful Deborah ~ I love graceful, quiet mornings. I don’t get them ~ but I do love them:)

  7. November 18, 2010 10:07 am

    my blood pressure just went down several points….ahhhhhhhhhh. there are few things as beautiful — and it’s free!

  8. November 18, 2010 10:47 am

    Beautiful post, Deborah! Enjoy this wonderful day! ~ Zuzu

  9. Amanda permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:10 am

    Beautiful. I need better shades though, in the morning there is no sun creeping in, it’s more like 4 flood lights shining into my room, blinding me as I stumble across the room tripping over toys left behind in there by the kids. No relaxing mornings here. xoxox

  10. November 18, 2010 11:31 am

    Lovely. Thanks for sharing with us. Have a blessed day! πŸ™‚

  11. November 18, 2010 12:22 pm

    We have this old door upstairs in the loft that has multicolored stained glass that throws beautiful colors all over the room for about 10 min. every morning. I make it a habit to sit at the top of the stairs every morning and watch the colors while I wake up. Sometimes its nice to just let the morning gradually wake you rather then rush through and not enjoy the beauty life has to offer.

    Thanks for sharing your morning beauty. πŸ™‚

  12. November 18, 2010 2:22 pm

    Yay!! I love seeing the sunshine! It is cold here today, but the sun is shining, so I am a happy camper. πŸ™‚
    Hope you are having a great week!
    Beth.

  13. November 18, 2010 2:52 pm

    A sun spot… I remember finding them as a kid, curling up under it, and laying there for what seemed like forever. Just letting my mind wander. Warm and secure… love these photos!

  14. November 18, 2010 7:22 pm

    Just beautiful!!!!! What a sweet way to wake in the morning πŸ™‚

  15. November 18, 2010 7:56 pm

    I love the scallop pattern on the wall that you don’t really see on the curtain itself….a beautiful image….thank you for sharing…
    Sue…the other Jersey Girl!

  16. November 18, 2010 8:32 pm

    Reminds me of waking at my Gram’s when I was little πŸ™‚ Beautiful.

  17. November 18, 2010 8:46 pm

    I had lace curtains in Germany. I miss lace curtains, they are so pretty! Sewing tomorrow. I read Susie too.

  18. November 18, 2010 10:17 pm

    Glad you had sun today, it was nasty here.

  19. November 18, 2010 10:47 pm

    These shadows are beautiful! I love when I notice the little things like this πŸ™‚

  20. November 18, 2010 11:10 pm

    Thanks so much for the very sweet comments. I would love to wake up to such a beautiful site.
    s

  21. November 18, 2010 11:33 pm

    It amazes me how something so simple can affect our spirits. We have lace curtians in our bathroom and the window faces west so every afternoon we get a pretty shadow on the vintage tiles. It’s even better if the windows are open and there’s a little breeze as the light and shadow do a little dance! Now if it was in my bedroom I’d probably lay there all day watching it!

  22. ain't for city gals permalink
    November 19, 2010 7:27 am

    The simple pleasures are always the best…

  23. November 19, 2010 11:24 am

    Hi Deborah

    Thank you for stopping by my blog for a visit! And, thank you for entering my giveaway!
    I appreciate those kind comments too. Yes…Fairfield looks like a lovely place for seashell letters. I almost spilled my morning tea reading your “about” section of your blog. Just priceless! If you don’t mind….I would like to copy it and share it with my daughters. What a hoot! Have a wonderful day!

  24. November 19, 2010 12:47 pm

    Hi Deborah, Beautiful photos and inspiring words . Thank you so very much for the kind comment you left on my Grateful Journal post. I really appreciate your visit and your post sums up my feelings about gratitude. Thank you!
    Hugs,
    Sherry

  25. November 19, 2010 8:03 pm

    Stunningly beautiful thought to accompany your photos.

  26. November 20, 2010 11:37 am

    That is a really neat post. My favorite part is the old house, but the best part were the keys hanging in the lock!!

    • Deborah permalink*
      November 20, 2010 11:42 am

      The old house is our home. The photo was not staged. The keys are original to the home and the only way we can lock and unlock the doors to each room.

  27. Pondside permalink
    November 20, 2010 11:42 am

    That is a beautiful shot – and a sweet reminder about shadows. What a beautiful sight to see on awakening.

  28. November 20, 2010 5:43 pm

    That is a beautiful shadow you found. I love lacy things, and remember trying to get a lacy suntan by wearing a crochet swim suit years ago. Alas, I don’t tan very well!

  29. November 20, 2010 5:57 pm

    I have always loved shadows and their patterns and never more than through lace curtains! Beautiful captures and lovely words to match. I also love the key in the door! And there can be beautiful sights when we open our eyes, sometimes we have to teach ourselves to see them. Enjoy the rest of your weekend, Deborah! Thank you for your visit and comment, always appreciated!

    Sylvia

  30. November 20, 2010 6:50 pm

    Lovely shadow pattern!

    Green Bottle Shadows

  31. November 21, 2010 1:02 am

    Oh so so gorgeous! Wonderful that you were able to catch it. Thanks so much for linking up.
    hugs,
    Debra

  32. November 21, 2010 1:16 am

    Your lace (and its shadow) is gorgeous!

  33. November 21, 2010 2:05 am

    These are great! Thanks so much for joining in Shadow Shot Sunday! Have a super week ahead πŸ™‚

  34. November 21, 2010 12:43 pm

    What gorgeous photography friend!! Thanks for sharing, I’m visiting from Common Ground & I love your blog!
    Smiles,
    Susie

  35. November 21, 2010 10:09 pm

    oy – that achy kind of perfect, that wants to know “will you go back to sleep, or get up and tame the day?”……so many questions!

  36. November 22, 2010 11:37 am

    What a wonderful morning met you! Sunny morning & shabby around? What else you can ask for?

    Perfect…

    Happy SSS…
    /chie

  37. November 22, 2010 1:08 pm

    Deborah – So simple and beautiful! What a lovely way to wake up!

    I mailed out your earrings today. look for them on Wednesday!

    Loretta

  38. November 23, 2010 4:09 pm

    That is gorgeous and I love that you leapt out of bed to capture it and then you shared it with us! Beauty is ALL around us…

  39. Jennifer permalink
    November 23, 2010 7:04 pm

    Deb, this is so beautiful and such a great reminder…not all shadows *are* dark! I’m sorry I haven’t commented before now; I hope you have a Very Blessed Thanksgiving!! πŸ™‚

  40. November 24, 2010 8:03 am

    What a lovely view in the morning, and so nice of you to share it.

    So happy and thankful to have connected with you, Deborah. I wish you and yours a very happy Thanksgiving.

  41. December 1, 2010 6:51 pm

    What an inspiring post, Deborah! Simple, deep, and touches the soul….. πŸ™‚ Happy WW to you!

    xoxo laurie

Leave a Reply

