Skip to content

The Human Web

November 6, 2010
by

We are each of us angels with only one wing, and we can only fly by embracing one another. ~ Luciano de Crescenzo

Six Degrees of Separation is based on the premise that we are all  six steps away from any other person on Earth, so that a chain of “a friend of a friend” statements can be made to connect any two people in six steps or fewer. Today we have the opportunity to see this theory in action.

There is a woman, Valorie, who has a blog.

I had never heard of her, nor her blog.

However, through blogging I have come to know this woman, Laura.

Laura and Valorie became friends via the Internet and eventually met.

I have learned through Laura that Valorie’s husband, Alberto,  had a major heart attack in an airport in Calgary while they were on their way to teach a tango workshop. He wants to be treated by his own doctor in his own community hospital in New Orleans. The Medivac expense is more than she can manage on her own.

My friend is holding an auction linky party to raise funds to assist.

Won’t you lend a hand from wherever you may be seated to help Alberto off his back and onto his happy dancing feet? Please visit her  blog to view all the lovely items up for auction and place your bids.

I have decided to offer a basket of Parisian Flair.

Basket of Parisian Flair

Basket of Parisian Flair_Close

Basket of Parisian Flair_Close_2

Basket of Parisian Flair_Journal

Basket of Parisian Flair_Close_3

Basket of Parisian Flair_Close_4

It includes :

An altered art journal “For the love of Paris” with a Follow Your Heart Charm

Reversible Charm Necklace (Featuring a Vintage photo of the Eiffel Tower on one side and vintage stamps on the other)

Vintage wide mouthed Jar with embossed fleur-de-lis

2 yards of vintage fabric ribbon featuring roses and the words  je t’aime

2 French Tags

2 French Embellished Clothes Pins

Set of three Fleur-de-lis Decorative Accents

18 French Vintage Themed Postcards by Carte Postale in sealed tin

Joyeux Noel 11 inch Glittered Extra Large Star Holiday Decoration

1 vintage white linen tea towel

The Diary of Anaïs Nin Volume One (one of my favorites)

The Fairfield House  donation has a value of $125.00. The bidding for this offering will come to a close at 11 PM est on Monday, November 8th. The collection will be mailed to the highest bidder at no additional expense.  All monies raised will be placed into an account set up for Valorie and Alberto: boutique@planet-tango.com

Bids are being taken by comments below. If you do not have a blog please leave an email address. Opening bid is $20.

I’m hoping my friends will help my friend’s friend.

Without further adieu, let the bidding begin.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann permalink
    November 6, 2010 2:36 pm

    I read the story on Valerie’s website, and am happy to help in a small way. I bid $25.00 for your lovely basket.

  2. November 6, 2010 2:48 pm

    Deborah,
    I can’t explain enough how thankful I am to have received your email. I know Valorie (Visual Vamp) she’s on my friends list. She introduce me to the story about Grey Gardens, and even sent me a copy of the HBO movie. I’m afraid that I haven’t visited her blog lately, I’ve been busy with projects around our house and doing searches on the computer for our granddaughter, who is planning a wedding next summer. I’ve work with brides, in one way or the other, since I was sixteen, from working in a bridal shop in Westfield, N.J., to becoming a Bridal Consultant at a Boscov’s, in Pa., for six years until I retired. I still have Valorie’s address from sending her money for the movie, I’ll send her a check and hope that she can raise enough money to get him home. Best of luck with your efforts.

    By the way, you never cashed the check I sent to you.

    Hugs
    ‘D’

  3. ain't for city gals permalink
    November 6, 2010 3:00 pm

    Hi Deborah,,I will bid $35.00….sheryl…

  4. November 6, 2010 3:17 pm

    Hi Deborah,

    It is amazing how everyone is coming together to help a friend in need.
    Your package is lovely – I am upping the bid to $50.00!!!

    Rhonda

  5. Laura Ingalls Gunn permalink
    November 6, 2010 4:08 pm

    My heart has spilled over into my eyes. Thank you my friend.

  6. ain't for city gals permalink
    November 6, 2010 5:02 pm

    Waaaaaa…lol….I’ll check back…

  7. November 6, 2010 7:33 pm

    How sad to hear of her husband. I was never a regular follower but oh what a lady! I love this auction, I do hope things work out for them and he gets home.

    Megan

  8. November 6, 2010 8:02 pm

    Hi Deborah! I love how the blogging community comes together in times of need. I will surely visit Laura’s blog and do what I can. So nice of you to offer that wonderful basket. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!
    xoxo,
    Kim

  9. November 7, 2010 2:45 pm

    well, sadly my limit was hit 😦

    Susan

  10. November 8, 2010 10:09 am

    I am not in a position to place a bid myself, but I am able to pray and send positive, loving thoughts to Valorie and Alberto – and to all their blogging angels. God bless you all.

  11. ain't for city gals permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:51 pm

    I want to bid more but I better not…I hope Alberto makes it home soon

Leave a Reply

