Skip to content

Circle of Life

October 9, 2010
by

“A dead hydrangea is as intricate and lovely as one in bloom.” ~ Toni Morrison

I was recently inspired by my lovely friend Rhoda of Southern Hospitality who made a free fall wreath using a grape vine base and magnolia leaves. I have grape vines.

Grape Vine

I have hydrangeas.

Hydrangea

So yesterday I jumped on the conservative wagon of using what I have to create and decorate. I soaked, cut and wove. This is my final result—

Hydrangea Wreath

If you would like to do something similar I suggest cutting flowers when the temperature is cooler and the flower stem is fully hydrated. This is particularly important with hydrangeas because they require a lot of water and the lack of it is why hydrangeas wilt so fast. Submerge the entire flower head of your cut hydrangea into room-temperature water for one to two minutes before you begin to make your wreath. This process will greatly extend their life and make the stem more flexible to work with.

I didn’t need to accessorize the wreath. Mother Nature took care of that when the few remaining butterflies landed.

Hydrangea and Butterfly

Linking up to Southern Hospitality’s Fall Projects Party.

Linking up to Cottage Instinct’s Make it 4 Monday.

Linking up to Keeping It Simple Motivate Me Monday.

Linking up to The Nesting Place

 

 

 

29 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2010 10:45 am

    that is so pretty!!

  2. October 9, 2010 11:03 am

    Oh Deborah, this is gorgeous! It even received Mother Nature’s Seal of Approval! I get a kick out of going out into the forest and making something from whatever I find. Fun and free. Doesn’t get any better than that! 🙂

    Have a great weekend!
    ~ Zuzu

  3. October 9, 2010 11:15 am

    Deborah, the wreath is very pretty and the butterfly makes it perfect! Hope you didn’t go out there with the glue gun and try to make it permanent!!! I love, love, love this time of year. The kids have been sleeping outside and it’s just cold enough for cider and hot chocolate.

    Hope you are enjoying your fall too.
    Kathy

  4. October 9, 2010 11:27 am

    Your wreath is beautiful! You should feel so proud of yourself. I was always too shy about making one, but I should reconsider the idea.
    Happy Weekend – it’s a delightful Autumn day out there!

  5. October 9, 2010 12:12 pm

    Beautiful! Your hydrangeas are so nice, mine had dark brown spots on them.
    I really like the pix of the butterfly, what a nice touch he made to your wreath.
    betsy

  6. Dee permalink
    October 9, 2010 12:27 pm

    HI Deborah ~ That is gorgeous. My hydrangea is the perfect shade of green and burgandy right now. If only I had the time. So beautiful ~ Thanks and have a great weekend. Dee ~

  7. October 9, 2010 12:29 pm

    Deborha,
    I had similar faux wreaths on our front doors, that I just took down. They weren’t nearly as pretty as your real ones and I had to pay lots of $’s for mine. I just love that lime green look of the Hydrangeas, but we don’t have any in our yard. I’ve asked my husband several times for Hydrangeas and a Magnolia Tree, but he seems to turn a deaf ear to my request. He’s outside the window in this room, right now, planting Knockout Roses around an old fountain that we had at on Pa. home, I’d much rather he chose those beautiful hydrangeas.:(
    Enjoy this beautiful weather.

    Hugs
    ‘D’

    • October 12, 2010 10:04 am

      At least your man takes some interest. Mine wouldn’t know a rose from a tulip.

  8. October 9, 2010 12:39 pm

    OMGosh! The butterfly is real! How cool. I can’t believe you made your own grapvine wreath. That’s awesome!

  9. Pondside permalink
    October 9, 2010 1:09 pm

    What a pretty fall wreath. The butterfly’s landing was just the perfect embellishment!

  10. Jennifer permalink
    October 9, 2010 1:30 pm

    how beautiful! great job Deb!!

  11. October 9, 2010 2:22 pm

    Deborah!
    That is beautiful. I am inspired!

    Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog this AM. You can call me Kate. or Sarah. or Jane. I’ll take it! We’re friends. I grew up being called every single one of my siblings’ names, so I’m used to it.

    🙂

    I just need your email to send you an invitation to my blog (I hoped we could stay connected.)
    Enjoy your weekend,
    Maureen

  12. Shirley permalink
    October 9, 2010 6:06 pm

    Beautiful wreath! I wondered why my hydrangeas wilted so fast after cutting, now I know. Thanks.

  13. October 9, 2010 6:07 pm

    Oh, Deborah! How pretty is that wreath. Thanks so much for the shout-out, yours is equally stunning. Love that you walked outside & made it from what you have too. It is SO pretty. Happy Fall to you, my friend.

  14. October 9, 2010 6:49 pm

    This is absolutely beautiful!

  15. October 9, 2010 7:36 pm

    Deborah! Your wreath is absolutely gorgeous!! My Hydrangeas have quit producing flowers, but I have been cutting my mums and making bouquets out of them. They are pretty, too, in their own way, but I LOVE Hydrangeas!!
    Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!
    Beth.

  16. Anonymous permalink
    October 9, 2010 7:44 pm

    Deborah, I love the simplicity of this. So beautiful and elegant. Now if you could only get the butterflies to stay permanently.

    Have a blessed evening. Hugs…Tracy 🙂

  17. October 10, 2010 7:02 am

    The wreath is beautiful and I am not suprised by the butterfly, I have a feeling they frequent your gardens. Have a lovely weekend.

  18. October 10, 2010 9:12 am

    Deborah, that is stunning!
    Hmmm… I too have grapevines and hydrangea.
    Hmmmm….
    Am I up to this challenge?
    Cass

  19. October 10, 2010 12:37 pm

    Oh, Deborah – it’s just gorgeous! Beautifully done! I’ve been telling hubs that I would love to have hydrangea bushes next year because I love all that can be done with the blooms…like make beautiful wreaths!

    I thought the butterfly was a little accent you added, hehe. I was thinking, “It looks so real!”

    Great job, Deborah. It’s looks so pretty on your door!

  20. October 10, 2010 12:39 pm

    {And can I add that it’s super neat that you made your own grapevine wreath?!} Maybe I need to grow some grapes, too!

  21. October 10, 2010 7:20 pm

    It is lovely Deborah! I always save my last few hydrangea blooms… they are perfect to scatter around the house in the fall and save to use in the spring!

  22. October 11, 2010 7:05 am

    This is beautiful! … I’m afraid I couldn’t have it on the front door (to stormy here in autumn), but it would look as nice inside, wouln’t it?

  23. October 11, 2010 8:17 am

    wow, this is gorgeous. as the hydrangeas dry then you will see more of the grapevine. genius.
    how come i’ve never been to your blog before? i’m always the last to know.

    ~janet

  24. October 11, 2010 8:40 am

    Oh I love this. I am sure it will dry beautifully. I have some lovely things to send you.

    Will email soon.

  25. October 11, 2010 12:44 pm

    I love it! We have the most beautiful hydrangea bush when we lived in North Carolina. It was right outside our bedroom.

    I tended to it lovingly, and then we moved back to NJ where I have weeds. 😦 I hope to plant hydrangeas next year.

  26. Andrea permalink
    October 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    WOW….how will this dry? I hope you will post more pics….thanks for stopping by Metis and wishing you a lovely week. I’ll say it again, WOW I love that wreath!!

  27. October 12, 2010 2:03 pm

    I love everything about your hydrangea wreath. I would love to have one hanging on my front door too!!!! Perfection!

    Rhonda

  28. October 16, 2010 7:13 pm

    Love the colors….love the wreath….and that butterfly… Perfection.

    Warm blessings,
    Spencer

Leave a Reply

