Skip to content

Premature Pollination

March 6, 2010
by

The greatest gift of the garden is the restoration of the five senses. ~ Hanna Rion

This week I joined 249,999 other people needing a cure for cabin fever. I made my annual pilgrimage to the International Philadelphia Flower Show. The world’s largest indoor flower show is a week-long exhibition of individual and club entries as well as full scale garden displays by professional landscapers and florists; each competing for the coveted Best in Show award.  As a child and 4H member I had the privilege of participating in the show and took home a blue ribbon. All exhibits are forced into bloom for the show, making a breathtaking presentation. The Pennsylvania Horticultural Society, founded in 1827, hosts the event. The society sponsored the nation’s first flower show in Philadelphia in 1829.

This year’s theme is ‘Passport to the World’ and features Holland’s flower fields and New Zealand’s garden festival to name only two. The show also includes music, food and wine from around the world. There are ongoing workshops and a market place to help you get your garden started.

After walking all ten acres of the Convention Center, I purchased poet’s jasmine – so fragrant.  Thomas noticed me admiring a stone fountain and decided it needed a home in my garden! I wish it were warm enough to install.

As I left the building, I silently bid my goodbyes and thanked the flowers for the inspiration. I heard them each whisper back: Soon.

I’m joining Kellie at Blessed Nest for a Spring Fling Party

36 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 11:02 pm

    I soo loved the mini ‘film’ there.. and that water fountain.. wow.. I’ll take 2 please.

    I’d be star struck after a show like this… floating on cloud 9 for weeks to come. I love the different colors and textures this year. LOVE IT.. (could you tell at all?) heehee

    hugs and with love,
    Oli

  2. March 7, 2010 12:48 am

    OOO that sounds like a little piece of heaven to me…
    We still have most of Novembers snow on the ground. But it will be melting fast enough. Then of course it will be mud! But I’m already seeing some green under where it has melted so that’s the promise of Spring.

    Make sure you share the new fountain when it gets installed. What a sweet guy for know what you want. And I’ll pretend I can smell smell the flowers, thanks!

  3. March 7, 2010 7:52 am

    Ah, the beauty and fragrance came wafting thru my screen (ok, maybe not the fragrance, but my nose certainly had fond remberances of the scents!)

    How lovely and inspiring…I’m counting the weeks till the warmth comes to stay. 🙂

  4. Susan Hetherington permalink
    March 7, 2010 7:57 am

    You’ve made my Sunday morning and have given me hope for what is to come. I’m going to my local garden center today to purchase starter soil for some herbs I wish to have on my kitchen windowsill.

    Thank you for the inspiration XOXO

    Sue

  5. March 7, 2010 8:20 am

    I can’t wwit to see pics of your garden and new fountain..it will be here before you know it..

  6. March 7, 2010 9:39 am

    I could just smell it, being there. I’m so glad you got to go. I’m anxiously awaiting time for me an my favorite hoe to hit the garden. It’s going to be a good gardening year, I can feel it in my bones. But, that could just be arthritis.

  7. March 7, 2010 11:00 am

    I can’t think of a better way to spend time. 🙂 Looking forward to seeing your garden!!!

  8. March 7, 2010 3:34 pm

    Hi, Deborah, thanks for entering the giveaway. Flower shows are a great way to get inspired for the coming spring. So glad you got to go. Wish we could all go yard saling together! Wouldn’t that be fun?!

  9. March 7, 2010 7:01 pm

    man o man am I jealous! What a lucky girl you are!

    I especially loved the yellow and purple together. sigh*

    everything was so lovely. I cant wait to see what you do in your garden! 🙂

  10. March 7, 2010 8:19 pm

    Beautiful flowers! Would you believe I already see buds on my hydrangeas? I can hardly wait! 🙂

    xo,
    rue

  11. March 8, 2010 6:43 am

    Deborah, my first thought was I bet that took months of planning just to get those plants and tree to bloom for the show, that in itself is an art.

    I had a quick question. There was a shot of a group of vases with blue flowers in them, what was coming out of the top of them, it looked like water, but was hard to tell in the photo?

    Super video, thanks for giving me hope that this snow will eventually melt!!

    Gill in Canada

  12. March 8, 2010 5:57 pm

    Oh, Deborah, that was just exquisite! Very inspiring to say the least! I can’t wait until I have the time to dedicate to the exterior and to such beautiful creations. Ahhhh! I know you had a lovely time!

    I’m looking forward to seeing your stone fountains and to be inspired by what you do in your garden! It’s nice to know others with green thumbs as I have what is called the Black Thumb of Death, hehe! That will change with practice!

    Thank you for sharing!

  13. Jennifer permalink
    March 8, 2010 9:05 pm

    Gorgeous! So many signs of spring; I’m more eager than ever for it to arrive. I love wandering the gardens on the coast in Maine-something about that salt air that makes them so vibrant and lush. Thanks for giving me a taste of whats to come!

  14. March 9, 2010 10:28 am

    Bonjour Deborah,
    I loved this video, all those beautiful flowers. I’m ready to start working in my garden again soon.
    Just a quick request, I have somehow managed to lose your email address and mailing address. Please forgive me, I do things like that occasionally. Could I impose on you to send it to me once more? I have my postcards ready to mail out and cannot find yours. Sorry!
    Thank you and have a great Tuesday!

  15. March 9, 2010 12:43 pm

    The promise of spring is indeed a beautiful thing.

    I was pleased to hear that I won my vintage AZ postcards. 🙂 I need to get crackin and send them out. Hopefully by Saturday.

  16. March 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    I loved the little crooked house! We were in the yard all day Sunday but it doesn’t look anything like that. Thanks for the tour.

  17. March 9, 2010 6:07 pm

    It’s hard to beat the beauty of a flower. I enjoyed the tour!

    I t/t my mom about custom quilts and she’s really got her hands full with other things right now, but I’m sure she’ll blog about it if she finds that that’s a path she wants to venture down.
    Thanks for welcoming her to blogland!
    ☺ Celeste

  18. March 10, 2010 3:35 pm

    Thanks for letting me know you posted this today, it just made my heart sing! I am craving the sights, sounds and smells of spring and you helped satisfy some of the sight part! 🙂 (loved the music you chose too, and I”m so glad no flowers were harmed in the making of your video….you’re so silly!) LOL
    I did make out like a bandit this week on getting pretty stuff didn’t I!! 🙂 I just got home from taking my mom shopping and guess where she wanted to go??………..TJ Maxx! She actually bought me a cake plate, so I didn’t have to spend much today. I did find a cute little shelf marked down, so I got that. 🙂 I have a hard time going into that store and not buying something! I just need to stay away. 🙂
    Have a great rest of the week!
    😀

  19. Kit permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:53 pm

    Ohhhh, I am so envious! Oh how I wish we had one near here to help get us thru the last dregs of winter. Thank you for the wonderful video! Kit

  20. March 12, 2010 12:57 am

    omgoodness. i think you helped me with my cabin fever!
    it’s raining – it’s pouring & i really should be snoring.

    i am so excited that you are attending the spring fling party & linking up this video.
    it is pure beauty. AND it is a sight for sore eyes!

    the best inspiration is always in nature to me. the music was so appropriate for the beauty of the video. loved it.

    happy weekend! thanks for the mini floral retreat.

  21. March 12, 2010 9:51 am

    Thanks for the tour – is there anything better than a flower show? Loved it.
    🙂 Nancy

  22. March 12, 2010 10:42 am

    Girl, TFS!! I love it. I esp. enjoyed seeing the Phillies hat because Hubby is coaching 4th grader on the Phillies this Spring in little league.

    Soon!!

  23. March 12, 2010 11:18 am

    Hi!
    Beautiful!! Thanks for sharing your video. I want one of everything! Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    A View of My Life

  24. March 12, 2010 1:16 pm

    Deborah,
    thank you for your kind words.
    NJ Born and Breed….. Your blog is lovely. I will also be returning.

    I can’t wait till all the Snow melts so that I can get out and get my hands dirty in the soil!

    Amy

  25. March 12, 2010 3:45 pm

    Flowers are always perfect for Finding Beauty, whether on a Friday, or not! The film is a nice touch!

  26. Ellen permalink
    March 12, 2010 8:07 pm

    How wonderful is that! What a great show in the winter just before Spring…

  27. March 12, 2010 10:59 pm

    Oh my Goodness! This is certainly Beauty and THEN some.

    I went to a local Home and Garden show and I wanted to ask — where are all the flowers???

    There were tons of hot tubs..*sigh*… no flowers in sight.

    Thanks so much for sharing this beauty! Its to die for!

    Looking forward to you showing off your new flower AND fountain.

    Claudia!

  28. March 12, 2010 11:10 pm

    Wow! That is so many people to take in the flower show! What an amazing sight! The flowers are so beautiful! Like they said soon it will be spring!! Have a wonderful weekend! Sherri : )

  29. March 13, 2010 12:12 am

    Oh and I am so looking forward to seeing some spring flowers as we get closer South Deborah.
    I also sent out your post card, but it’s really not a post card….you’ll see : )
    I really have to do some last minute packing. Tomorrow is the big day….Fla. here we come : )
    I must tell you that Sherri swapped out the pictures she had on her post last night. We really did look drunk. Now they look better, just thought it was funny when I went back to read the comments lol
    See you in April.
    Love Claudie
    oxoxoxoxo

  30. March 13, 2010 12:21 pm

    Beautiful flowers and Vivaldi! Fabulous!

  31. March 15, 2010 6:35 pm

    What a way to fight the Winter doldrums! You are so lucky to live close to the Philadelphia Flower Show. Really enjoyed the clip and thanks so much for dropping by GrannyMountain for a visit today!
    joycee

  32. March 16, 2010 3:51 pm

    A little piece of heaven right here on earth…
    It won’t be long and we’ll be scrubbing all that dirt with a nail brush!
    annie

  33. March 23, 2010 8:49 pm

    So inspiring and yay for Spring! Thanks for visiting me ;).

  34. March 23, 2010 9:14 pm

    The smell must have been intoxicating! What a wonderful way to spend a day! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for your sweet comment about my Easter/Spring decor. I’ll be back soon. Sandra

  35. March 24, 2010 5:54 pm

    Thank you for the video.. I have always wanted to go to that show.. but am never in PA during the spring…. and your fountain.. well.. I have one also…

    Sandy

    http://thewondersofdoing.blogspot.com/

  36. March 26, 2010 8:06 pm

    Oh thank you for the link! The video is beautiful – and now I’ll be humming Vivaldi’s tune all night 🙂 Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

