Skip to content

You’ve Got Mail

February 24, 2010
by

A letter always seemed to me like immortality because it is the mind alone without corporeal friend.      ~ Emily Dickinson

Atlantic City, NJ: 1900

When my Grammy died some years ago, she left behind cigar boxes packed with hundreds of postcards she and my Pop collected throughout their lives. I have spent hours pouring over them and lose myself not only in the pictures featured on the front of the cards but also in the sweet messages and beautiful penmanship. Many of the places pictured and most of the people who sent them no longer exist. These cards serve as their markers in time.

I find it sad that sending postcards is becoming a lost art. When people travel today they usually touch base with cell phones or email.  Thanks to the wonders of technology you don’t have to wait until you are home from vacation to get your film developed to reminisce over memories made. Photographs are instantly available and you can immediately send them to friends electronically. You can even blog from an airport or hotel room.

Rockaway, Long Island NJ: 1931

Still, very few will have the joys of receiving a post card in their mail box or having a collection like mine to pass on to future generations. You can’t reread a phone call or linger over the beautiful or illegible script of an email or twitter. A handwritten note is personal and the process of heart to brain to hand to pen to paper shows you care. It takes more effort to mail. You cannot simply press a button to send. You must purchase a stamp, affix this miniature piece of art to the card and walk to a mail box. Real mail is an investment of time, thought and a few coins.

Ocean Grove, NJ: 1934

Parsley, author of Seasons of My Mind blog apparently feels the same way and is hosting a post card exchange. I  have decided to make it a party, in an effort to include more people. Anyone who links in will receive a post card from me and in exchange agrees to mail me one. (Addresses will be exchanged via email between the participating parties. No one will forward any one else’s address.) Tell me something special about your home state, county or area of interest and I will do the same.

Miami, FL: 1939 (Sex wasn't invented in the "Summer of Love").

Incentive to participate and spread the word: Once I collect postcards from all 50 states, I will have a giveaway. All who participate will be eligible for an entry to receive a ‘New Jersey’ themed box of goodies. The contents will be a surprise. Parsley is offering an ‘Oklahoma’ themed box of goodies!

I hope you will join me and make my first linky party a success.  If you don’t have a blog but would like to participate leave a comment with your email address.

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

79 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:29 am

    Thank you SO MUCH for this! I have linked up…I think. I hope many want join the fun! ~~Parsley

  2. February 24, 2010 11:45 am

    Deborah,
    That is exactly why my own blog has two posts with “the art of letter writing”.
    I wanted those letters really to be read, and not tossed out in email.

    On a different subject, I made the worst mistake possible with my digital camera in Qingdao. I loaded my photos onto my son’s iMac, and did not click the “safely remove device”. I knew the moment I pulled the usb cable, I had fried my digital camera. I still had my 35mm to use for the rest of my trip, and my son, over time, sent me all my digital pics loaded on his iMac.

    Ginny

  3. February 24, 2010 12:00 pm

    My cousin and I in MA were just talking about this very thing! I mailed her a Get Well Card, and she remarked how nice it was to receive a card that she could ‘hold’. I have a box of letters that my mom and her sisters exchanged over the years, and like your postcards, they are precious to me! Link me up baby…..

  4. February 24, 2010 12:38 pm

    Are your Canadian friends able to participate Deborah? I would love to send some postcards of my beautiful city Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.
    Let me know.
    Love Claudie
    xoxo

    • Deborah permalink*
      February 24, 2010 12:43 pm

      Yes! This is open to everyone, everywhere! The more the merrier.

  5. February 24, 2010 2:44 pm

    Too funny! I have been planning on writing a blog on just this topic- I suppose great minds do think a like! I will mention this post in my blog to see if I can get you a little more attention on the subject. Count me in!

  6. February 24, 2010 4:13 pm

    What a wonderful idea, Deborah! I loved looking at the old postcards you posted, and how sweet that you have them to pull out and read. I would have loved to have something like that from my grandparents! {I *do* have all the “love letters” between hubs and I when were younger…}

    Thanks for starting this..how fun!

  7. February 24, 2010 4:55 pm

    Great idea. You have such amazing ways to make life fun. I am so happy you come visit my blog.

  8. February 24, 2010 6:31 pm

    Oh this is SO fun! Our family loves to travel and I always pick up and send out postcards to our grandma’s in the nursing home and my nieces and nephews. It is quick way to let someone know that you are thinking about them.

  9. February 24, 2010 6:37 pm

    what a neat idea! imagine that before all this techy stuff we sent postcards! i think that we are really missing something so unique and heartfelt when we use modern technology..dont ya think? postcards are exciting and send news home of our travels..it is so much more romantic than the texting and cell phones we have with us EVERYWHERE..thanks for doing this..it is a lost art and im glad you see the significance of postcards! have a great time!

  10. February 24, 2010 7:12 pm

    just want to say it IS a very special treat to get a card in the mail because of the higher postal rates and busyness of everyone’s life. sweet cards and idea!

  11. February 24, 2010 7:23 pm

    Sounds like a fun idea! I do send postcards – I sent about ten on our last visit to the US. People do still love to get them, and I have many stuck on my fridge from friends and family, too!

  12. February 24, 2010 7:30 pm

    Ocean Grove in the (Fairfield) house! 🙂 I’ve been collecting old Jersey Shore postcards since we got the shorehouse and have been loving it. Some of the old images are so fantastic. I sent postcards recently to some friends — vintage reproductions ones that I bought while in Paris a few months back — and they were blown away. Many couldn’t remember the last time they got postcards in the mail (and I sent them for Valentine’s Day so it doubled the surprise for them). I miss getting happy mail…now all that comes are bills and circulars!

  13. February 24, 2010 8:30 pm

    It’s so thoughtful to send a postcard or to write a real letter. And tender. Requires time though.

    Hope you have a lovely party, but I’m thinking that I might not follow through.

    But I so enjoy getting “happy mail” every now and then.

    Sweet dreams.

  14. February 25, 2010 9:58 am

    You’re so right! I feel almost violated by the constant cell phone conversations everywhere I go. I’m always saying I wish they could stop some of this technology. Not the internet of course! But I do hate to hear all these conversations going on around me. All the loud ring tones. I find myself longing for another era. What a wonderful idea! Cherish your treasured postcards! Wish I had some old correspondence in my family to peruse.
    Brenda

  15. February 25, 2010 10:00 am

    Count me in.. let me link up now!

    It’s important to me that I send out thank you cards for any wee gift given to me.

    Love the old post cards, rarely see them anymore.

    with love and hopes that the snow won’t keep you indoors all weekend!

    Olivia

  16. February 25, 2010 11:24 am

    I used to love diggin in my gramas stuff … I still have all of the relics!

  17. February 25, 2010 11:50 am

    I have to agree with everything you and Emily Dickinson said.

    What is odd, is that we all realize this, and remember how fun it was when mail was the only way, but we still don’t put forth the effort to make it happen.

    Thanks for helping up “do it”!
    I’m in!

    I wish I had a cigar box of memories like that from my Ma. You are blessed to have it.

    Rhonda

  18. February 25, 2010 12:54 pm

    Deborah–
    What a great idea!!!!
    I do miss letter writing. I fought the email thing for a long time and finally succumbed.
    A wonderful friend and I have kept our friendship going for almost 37 years through our notes and letters and now emails as well. Still, there’s nothing better than the excitement of finding a letter in the mailbox from someone you love.
    I’ll be sending you a card!
    annie

  19. February 25, 2010 2:04 pm

    This sounds like fun to me! I have never stopped writing letters ~ I’m in love with stationary and all its forms. So I’ll link up and let’s get this party started. Thank you Deborah ~

  20. February 25, 2010 3:19 pm

    Thanks so much for coming over to my blog and commenting!
    You know, I love each season too, but lately I thought it’s time for a change! 🙂 I like snow in winter, but not rain. You are really lucky that it’s still snowing over there!
    Love, Chani

  21. February 25, 2010 3:25 pm

    This sounds like fun! I’d love to join in. One of my dreams is to visit every state in the US, and every province or territory in Canada. Postcards from these places would be so much fun. My mother had a number of postcards from the early 1920’s exchanged between her mother-in-law in England and father-in-law who immigrated to Canada and was waiting to send for his family. Very precious to see the formality of their writing and a glimpse of the love they shared, in their own handwriting too! I still enjoy sending thank you notes and cards by mail.

  22. February 25, 2010 4:44 pm

    Just got your message about this Deborah and I’d love to do it. But I haven’t done any mcklinky things yet and not sure how that works? I know, need to learn..so count me in..if I can figure out the linky part…
    What I love are the old portrait postcards and I have a few that were my grandparents..
    Also, have you seen the blog 365 letters? She posts about writing some kind of letter everyday.
    Ok, off the the mcklinky thing….

    Thanks for thinking of me and I’ll let some of my other blog friends know about this..

    ~Vicki~

  23. February 25, 2010 6:23 pm

    You KNOW I’m in friend! This is such a wonderful idea and I’m excited about the opportunity to hunt for the perfect postcard tomorrow!

    Layla 🙂

  24. February 25, 2010 7:15 pm

    Ok Deborah, I’m in only it’s under my blog Change In A Bottle…you can link to it on this blog
    I have your button there also…

    Thanks for this!

  25. February 25, 2010 7:54 pm

    Love this idea!! Can’t wait to exchange post cards…how wonderful! Nothing like seeing someone’s handwriting sending greetings from places afar!

  26. February 25, 2010 10:16 pm

    I want to join the fun! Let me work on figuring out how to link up! I love Mclinky!

  27. February 25, 2010 10:37 pm

    How fun! count me in!

  28. February 26, 2010 6:18 pm

    Love your blog! I really enjoyed reading through it all – I LOVE old postcards. Everytime I’m in an antique store, I always look through them …some of them are just plain beautiful – not quite as corny as some are today.
    One of my new year promises to myself is to start writing letters to friends and family – I would love to get a handwritten letter in my mailbox….
    Thanks for all the great ideas and inspiration!
    Sarah

  29. February 27, 2010 10:51 am

    I just entered my link and will send you a postcard from Louisiana if you will send me your snail mail.

    Smiles~
    Marilyn

    PS. You might be interested in Postcrossing.com, a site where you send and receive postcards from all over the world. I’ve been participating for about two months and have received some really great cards.

  30. February 27, 2010 11:35 am

    Thanks so much for stopping by and posting– I was able to join in here. What a fun idea.

    Looks like you already have one from Utah… DARN!

    But I look forward to seeing what you get.

    I look forward to you joining us NEXT Friday at Finding Beauty!

    Claudia

    • Deborah permalink*
      February 27, 2010 11:52 am

      Claudia,

      It’s okay if states are duplicated! I’m just hoping I get at least one from each state.

      Thanks for joining the party!

      Deborah

  31. February 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    OK, Deborah, count me & the beautiful state of Colorado in! I will need to purchase a postcard when I go shopping this week. Great party idea!!!
    Hugs,
    Zuzu

  32. February 27, 2010 8:28 pm

    What fun! I can do Virginia and/or DC! Looking forward to it.
    Maureen

  33. February 27, 2010 8:36 pm

    Hi…this is really neat. Please count me and the peach state, Georgia, in!!!!!!!!

  34. dottydotty permalink
    February 28, 2010 5:01 am

    I would love to join in from the Uk if that is ok taking DS out for brakfst now but will add a link when I get back:)

    • Deborah permalink*
      February 28, 2010 8:43 am

      Dotty,

      Would love to have you join the party!

      Deborah

  35. February 28, 2010 6:24 pm

    What a lovely idea to do a postcard exchange. I feel the same way about letters and hand written notes. We are loosing so much for future generations by having everything online… this is a great way to intertwine digital and the art of the handwritten note!

  36. March 1, 2010 2:32 am

    Ok, I am in! Sounds like fun.. I have also lost the art of handwriting and sending letters and postcards.. Looks like you have one from California, but maybe not MY part of California…if you only need one from California let me know..and I will not participate..thank you

    Barb

  37. March 1, 2010 12:06 pm

    I’ve been on the lookout for postcards in my little one horse town, and so far, I’m turning up empty handed! I’ll keep looking though. ☺ Celeste

  38. March 1, 2010 1:28 pm

    THanks for stopping by with info on this great idea. I am a letter writer, it’s becoming a lost art. I’ve signed on with McLinkiy – I think. So should I contact you by email with address info – sorry I’m new at all this.
    Have a godd evening

  39. March 5, 2010 11:43 am

    hello and YES! i would like to participate in the postcard exchange!
    when i was a little girl my favorite pasttime was writing to pen pals…i so miss that!

  40. March 7, 2010 4:47 pm

    Hi Deborah!
    I have signed up on the McLinky and I am leaving you a comment. I would so love to send a postcard from the beautiful State of Arizona. I notice that Laura has already signed up but I am sure they will not be alike.

    Country hugs sweetie…Sherry

  41. March 7, 2010 8:12 pm

    Hi Deborah 🙂

    I’m not sure what I’m supposed to do, but I signed up, as I really miss letters and postcards. Such a lost art! Did you know they’re trying to take away Saturday mail? Sad.

    rue

  42. March 7, 2010 9:23 pm

    I just added my link. Such a cool project. I’m living in Washington, but spend a ridiculous amount of time visiting family in Alberta, and will hopefully be moving there soon. I can send postcards from both places! Can’t wait to get my postcard.

  43. March 7, 2010 10:56 pm

    I picked you up a postcard in Breckenridge, CO, today but I see CO is taken…so sign me up for NYC if that’s still available! 🙂 I just hooked up to Mr. Linky, too, but figured I’d let you know.

  44. Pondside permalink
    March 8, 2010 2:29 am

    Long, long ago I visited that flower show. It was 1976, I think, and it was my first garden show ever. I took the train in from the little mainline town in which we lived – I’d never been in a city as large as Philadelphia. What a lovely memory it is for me.

  45. March 8, 2010 5:12 pm

    so inspiring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  46. March 9, 2010 4:54 pm

    Thank you for stopping by.. love your header and blog.. not sure how to follow you.. this is all new to me(:

  47. Kit permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:47 pm

    Hi! First off, thank you so much for such a lovely comment on my blog. I am excited to send you a postcard. I LOVE postcards myself and never fail to mail them all over the place when I go to the Oregon Coast each year. I have a bunch on the wall of my craft/art room and they always make me smile. Have a great day! And thank you for such a fun swap. Kit

  48. March 12, 2010 10:44 pm

    this is a fabulous idea! i did sign up thanks so much for bringing back the past!

  49. March 12, 2010 10:46 pm

    This is so neat. I am thrilled to be involved. I live in Iowa!

  50. March 12, 2010 11:08 pm

    Love this idea! I see you already have a PA but if you’d like another, I would be thrilled to participate! I put my name on the mclinky.
    ~Michelle

  51. Lynne Doucette permalink
    March 13, 2010 12:11 am

    If I don’t have to have a blog (and don’t have a clue about ‘linking’) you can count on New Hampshire….

  52. March 13, 2010 9:57 am

    I just saw Rue’s post about this and would love to join in. I will blog and link back later today.

  53. March 13, 2010 10:03 am

    I love this idea! Count me in. I am racking my brain to try to come up with some ideas for a goodie box. Let me know if you would like one from Michigan.

  54. March 13, 2010 11:09 am

    Savannah Georgia here and would love to be included. I however do not know how to do the Mr Linky thing.

  55. March 13, 2010 11:11 am

    OO I figured it out…it took me a moment…I linked up. This will be fun!

  56. March 13, 2010 3:22 pm

    This is a wonderful idea!! I saw this on Rue’s blog and just had to join in the fun! Thanks for organizing this!

  57. Anonymous permalink
    March 13, 2010 8:06 pm

    I’ve signed up too…twice! I got an error the first time and then both of my entries showed up. Please delete one…oh, I am SO sorry!

    • Deborah permalink*
      March 13, 2010 9:17 pm

      If you’d like to participate, I need you to please leave your email address so I may contact you with specifics. I attempted to leave a comment for you on your blog but your comments are limited to goggle accounts which I do not have.

  58. judy hale permalink
    March 14, 2010 1:03 am

    I am so excited about this.I have thought many times how sad it is that no one takes time to write a letter or drop a postcard to some one they cherish.So I can’t wait to send my postcard.Who knows maybe I will get a pen-pal out of this.I had one when I was a teenager he was from Liverpool,England of course this was in the 60’s when the Beatle’s were all the craze.His name was Stuart and I still have all his letters.I am from Illinois and I have my ink pen in hand lol.

  59. Genevieve permalink
    March 14, 2010 11:49 am

    I LOVE the postcard exchange. I do not have a blog or website yet but want to participate so bad. I once worked for Crane & Co. paper makers and am a ferm believer in letter writing. I can’t wait to send you a post card from Idaho.
    Sincerely,
    Genevieve

    • Deborah permalink*
      March 15, 2010 8:19 am

      Genevieve,

      I have attempted to e-mail you at the address you left above (an5gg56@yahoo.com) but it was returned as “No such email account exists.” Please contact me at Deborah@FairfieldHouseNJ.com if you are still interested in participating in the postcard exchange.

      Thank you.

  60. March 15, 2010 8:55 am

    Count me in from Rhode Island!

  61. March 15, 2010 1:38 pm

    This is such a wonderful idea! Thank you so much for trying to hold on to our past and I’m so happy to be a part of it!

  62. March 15, 2010 1:49 pm

    Hi, I noticed that you are from New Jersey and the Laura will probably send a postcard from the Jersey Shore. Would you like another post card from the top of the shore?
    ♥, Susan

    • Deborah permalink*
      March 15, 2010 3:35 pm

      Susan,
      I would love to have a card from another part of the beautiful NJ shore!
      Deborah

  63. March 16, 2010 12:58 am

    A 2-year-old’s handmade postcard from Washington is on it’s way to you! We sure had fun making it, so I hope you enjoy it! When we are in Alberta next we will send you another from there.

  64. March 19, 2010 1:30 pm

    I can send a postcard from San Francisco, or I am traveling to Spain and Morocco next month and am happy to send one from there!

    Your post captures my feelings about postcards so well. thanks for doing this!

  65. March 21, 2010 7:04 pm

    I thought I posted already but hmmmm… I would love to do a postcard exchange with you. I’m from the Twin Cities area in Minnesota, Land of Ten Thousand Lakes… A beautiful state to say the least. Would love to learn about your state as well. I currently don’t have a blog but I definately am inspired by this blog and more than a handful of others. I’m brainstorming the blog name of my dreams so it takes me a bit as I like things just so…topics to bring to the table… you know the humdrum of what makes me inspired to create, what gives me giddy-up to get through my day and putting that to a page. Love your writing… grabbing my cup a java or tea and knowing its going to be a conversation I’ve waited for is just… soooo exciting. Whats going on in your piece of the world is like learning and at the same time feeling like I’ve known you all along in so many ways. Different I guess but fun all the same.

  66. March 22, 2010 7:51 pm

    Hi Deborah, yes I did get your postcard and it was my absolute favorite one so far. I tried to contact about 20 ladies with my address and asking for theirs, but I have only heard back from about 6 or 7, hoping I still hear back from some of them. Oh well..I need to try to contact some more on your blog post and see..

    Barb

  67. Bonnie permalink
    March 23, 2010 10:23 am

    How I wish I had found this blog sooner! What a fun, fun, fun idea and who knows – perhaps I’ll find a postcard from Washington and send it off to you anyway.

    The New Jersey box of treats sounds intriguing… I spent the first 23 years of my life in New Jersey. How I miss it and often dream of its “treats” – salt water taffy, Tastykakes, a real cheesesteak (ok – yeah – that’s Philly but…), Dunkin Donuts (my favorite was chocolate with chocolate jimmies. No one out here knows what a “jimmie” is and I always have to explain it) but above all? I’d love a real strombolli. Apparently they are not to be found.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane. Of course, it’s 8:23 AM here and now I’ve made myself hungry. 🙂 Cottage cheese & an apple are a POOR substitute for strombolli, though!!

  68. April 2, 2010 7:26 am

    Hi there, I’ve linked but thought I should comment as well. I love this idea…all I seem to get in my letter box is bills! I’m blogging from Canberra, Australia, so hope that’s ok.
    Wonderful idea, thank you!

  69. April 5, 2010 3:03 pm

    Hi Deborah,

    I am in! Off to add to the link.
    Thanks again for your comment…can’t wait to send/receive cards!!

    Jeanne:)

  70. Deborah permalink
    April 17, 2010 9:26 pm

    Is it still possible to join? I’m a novice on McLinky-thinky but it appears to be full.

    Hoping to hear from you!

  71. May 13, 2010 6:50 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog and I think this is a fabulous idea!! LOVE postcards…every year when we take our beach vacation I send about 10 out to family and friends…it’s actually one of my favorite things to do that week!

  72. October 15, 2010 11:18 am

    This is something I definitely would enjoy! I am also hoping not to miss out on this fun idea. I will try to link up and get connected and if I can’t I am going to have to come back and ask for help 😉

  73. May 9, 2011 12:16 pm

    Being an old New Jersey girl, I just loved all
    the cards from Atlantic City, been many times and
    Ocean Grove was a special place for me.

Leave a Reply

