Skip to content

Fabulous Finds, Wonderful Windfalls

February 21, 2010
by

“Whoever said money can’t buy happiness simply didn’t know where to go shopping.” ~ Bo Derek

Apron

Handmade Apron by Olivia

My UPS and Postal people have been busy. Even though there has been snow on the ground for most of February, I am still able to treasure hunt online.

This beautiful apron was hand-made by Olivia. It is so feminine; adorned with tiny flowers and lace. It’s almost too pretty to cook in. Perhaps I need an apron to wear over my apron and use this one to serve in.

Ironstone Bowl, Blue Creek Home

These sterling bud vases and ironstone bowl were purchased from Rhonda of Blue Creek Home who recently opened the cyber doors of her etsy shop. Look at the detailing on the vases. The bowl compliments my Ironstone collection. Rhonda is currently hosting a give-away in celebration of having 300 followers. Her hand-made pillows are to die for.

Sterling Bud Vases, Blue Creek Home

Ironstone Sugar and Creamer

Sugar and Creamer, Stone Meadow Market

The beautiful sterling sugar and creamer came from Annie’s new online shop, Stone Meadow Market. I love the patina on these antique pieces.  I can’t help but wonder who owned these, how many tables did they sit upon?

It seems my Irish luck is not limited to March. A while back I entered a contest at Megan’s Minute, which asked: what is your favorite coffee moment? My response was: My first moment of consciousness. I had forgotten about the contest until I received notification that I won a Tassimo Coffee Machine! Who needs Starschmucks?

Last week, Thomas and I were spending a lazy morning in bed, watching the snowfall, sipping coffee and reading. I checked my e-mail and learned I was one of the lucky winners in the Barn House Boys Giveaway! I purchased a box full of goodies from them on opening day and will share those items with you when I unveil my bathroom sometime in 2012 (Yes, I jest. It only feels like forever.)

Tassimo Box

Coffee Winnings from Megan's Minute

I have yet to use my winnings but browsing through Joe’s and Jermonne’s shop is half the pleasure.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 4:13 pm

    Lovely goodies! You will so enjoy your Tassimo! I like to lean close and watch the steam come out… it thrills me that I can get a great cup of joe at HOME in my pajamas!!! Ps… The Suchard hot cocoa is a must-get when you order Tassimo coffee!

  2. February 21, 2010 4:23 pm

    Love all the goodies you have acquired! The apron is so pretty.

  3. February 21, 2010 4:47 pm

    You certainly are the lucky one! Is that you wearing the apron? LOVE the ironstone. Love it.

  4. February 21, 2010 6:17 pm

    I love the apron!! I found your blog via The Smith Hotel.

  5. February 21, 2010 6:29 pm

    Haven’t been able to find you again till I got this email! Looks like you’ve had a nice lucky streak lately! Love all your pictures and yes, I’d wear an apron over that one too (:

    Take care..
    ~Vicki~

  6. February 21, 2010 6:35 pm

    Me again…duh..got smart and added your button to my other blog..

    lifesoverhaul.blogspot.com

    Come visit both!

  7. February 21, 2010 7:27 pm

    It sounds like you are having way too much fun up there!!!!

    Shopping, sleeping in, winning all sorts of prizes!! I think it is wonderful.

    I’m not sleeping in, but I am drinking lots (way too much!) coffee. You have to let us know how you like the new coffee maker.

    Thanks for the BCH shout out. The items from my shop are in good company. It is all so lovely!

    (I haven’t forgotten your F- I am looking)

    Rhonda

    • Thomas permalink*
      February 21, 2010 8:10 pm

      Yes, we have a great deal of fun “sleeping” in.

  8. February 21, 2010 7:29 pm

    Well just look at you!

    UPS and USPS must love you lately! The apron fits you like a dreamy my girl, see it was made just for you. CoCo Couture via Olivia and Me! I love the pewter s&c set and the bud vases are just so sweet. Violets here we come!!!

    See, it pays (well sorta, more like you pay) to be snowed in.

    I wish you love and hope.

    Olivia

  9. February 21, 2010 9:55 pm

    Deborah-
    Thank you so very much for the lovely mention.
    You’ve got the eye!
    Now you can use your new coffee machine while wearing your apron and setting the table with all your goodies!
    You’ll be surrounded by loveliness!
    annie

  10. February 22, 2010 8:30 am

    WOW…lucky girl! I always think that it used to be every time I left the house I would spend $50…now we don’t even have to leave the house!!! Also, I have been looking into Etsy…I thought everything had to be homemade but they say you can sell vintage (they say 20 years or older) ..might be a good alternative for e-bay for me…

  11. February 22, 2010 9:16 am

    You are such a lucky girl! And that is probably my new favorite quote!

  12. February 22, 2010 9:20 am

    i’ve won one contest and was in shock…so much so i had to repeatedly read my name to make sure i wasn’t mistaken! lol. congrats, girl —— yay give-aways!!

  13. February 22, 2010 10:03 am

    What fun finds! And winning contests? I’m never that lucky! Awesome!

  14. February 22, 2010 10:32 am

    Beautiful pieces! Thanks so much for the links.

  15. February 22, 2010 11:28 am

    Oh, I forgot to ask.. did you end up purchasing that lovely large cloche?

    If you didn’t.. well I’d purchase that and their new English Breakfast set!! That is soo adorable with the wee silver spoons and mini glass holder!!

    with love,
    Olivia

    • Deborah permalink*
      February 22, 2010 11:32 am

      I did indeed purchase the cloche. I will be featuring it and my other purchases from The Barn House Boys in an upcoming post!

  16. February 22, 2010 1:48 pm

    Wonderful finds, and luck of the Irish!!! These are all great! No winter blues at your house!
    Happy Monday,
    Zuzu

  17. February 22, 2010 10:44 pm

    Looks like you’ve found some great treasures and congratulations to you for winning! I look forward to seeing your bathroom. ☺ Celeste

  18. February 23, 2010 12:07 am

    I won’t ever tell my husband, but my heart pounds harder when I see the UPS truck than when I see his car come home. Now, that’s sad. It underscores my obsession with online shopping. Now, for you it’s even sweeter because you won those delightful items.

    Thank you also for the lovely, kind, and supportive comments you have left – from my latest career move to the recent death of my dear friend. Your words have meant so very much.

    I am so glad we have met (virtually).
    Maureen

  19. February 23, 2010 10:48 am

    Thanks for the nice comments on my blog. Bless you and your family. Nursing homes really do scare me. And I wanted to tell you I love your Harry jr. Snowman.

  20. February 23, 2010 2:40 pm

    Here I am once again blogging while avoiding the project due tomorrow for drawing and rendering. 🙂 Yep, denial is not just a river in Egypt. 🙂

    I could so spend tons at the Barn House. Love it all. Can’t wait to see what you select.

  21. February 23, 2010 2:57 pm

    Starschmucks. ::tee hee::

    Of course, this thrifty girl loves all of your finds! I’m especially loving the little bud vases. I want to reach through the screen and pop a tulip in each one! And I hear you on the 2012 unveil. Our weekends have been filled with finding someone to redo our attic (um…there’s just two of us in the house, yet we’re having our attic renovated in a recession? Yup…we’re super geniuses.) and I feel like I’ll be with you. Mike has a much more aggressive June 2010 timeline. God bless his little heart and big dreams. 😉

  22. February 23, 2010 4:29 pm

    Congrats on the Tassimo win! I was lucky enough to be in on a giveawy & got one myself before Christmas & gave one away too. You will enjoy it. Love your white pieces too.

    Thanks for coming by!

  23. February 23, 2010 4:55 pm

    That is a beautiful apron. Way too nice to fry bacon in!

  24. February 25, 2010 10:09 pm

    Such pretty things! You lucky girl!!

  25. March 11, 2010 8:14 am

    Thanks for posting all of these wonderful places online to shop. I discovered Barn House from the issue of Flea Market Magazine that I just bought this weekend. I loved the article featuring them. Their story is cool and I envy their house! Thanks again for this post – I am new to the blogging world and it helps to see all the great places for good treasures. Uh-oh . . . now I don’t have to go out to antique stores?! I can find this stuff online in the middle of the night when I have a great decorating idea but just need one more piece to make it perfect? Deborah, this could be dangerous.

  26. March 15, 2010 5:21 pm

    Oh, I LOVE that apron! I have a couple different aprons, and it has been awhile since I have worn either of them. I am going to tonight!! 🙂
    Hope you have a great week! Beth.

  27. March 24, 2010 7:20 pm

    Hi,
    I love your new apron and your post about your grandmas postcards. Its so true and I really need to make an effort to send more notes in the mail. Thank you for the sweet comment on my blog, glad you found me.
    Londen

Leave a Reply

