Skip to content

Blizzdom 2010

February 8, 2010
by

“Follow your bliss” ~ Joseph Campbell

I got my Blizz on.

Red Barn in Snow

Did you find your bliss this weekend? I did. All I had to do was venture outdoors after the blizzard passed and witness winter in all its glory.

I did not attend the Blissdom Conference but understand the excitement of five hundred women and one man (that lucky dude, Kevin Palmer of TLC) brought together by the one thing they all have in common – blogging. They attended to connect and cultivate inspiration. They attended to relax and grow.

I did attend the Blizzdom Conference. My childlike excitement was stirred when my entire world became one thing — snow. I connected and cultivated inspiration. I relaxed and grew.

Harry melted all the girls' hearts.

In fact there was not much difference in Blissdom and Blizzdom. Did you really believe Harry changed his performance schedule due to the Super Bowl?

What a wonderful experience Blissdom was for so many bloggers. I would love to meet the authors who’s blogs I frequent, but the truth is I already know them, as my readers have come to know me, through shared intimate details I post.Imagine Snow Garden

I wonder what new ideas will be sprouting from the seeds of thought that were planted at Blissdom.

I wonder how the hundreds of pale pink tulip and white hyacinth bulbs I planted will fare after Blizzdom.

How do you get your bliss on?

29 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 7:20 am

    Tulips and hyacinth bulbs.. what fun you’ll be having this Spring as well as glorious photos too.

    Bliss is a balance within me which doesn’t necessarily mean everything is right in my little world. But the peace inside, limiting exposures of redundant information and understanding just what can not be changed.

    (I’m not sure why some find the need for change in such away to control or dominate the situation. When I see folks out of balance, you’ll see the intimidated and those who ‘look’ like they have authority.)

    To me, bliss is enjoyment of whatever one does.. now don’t get me wrong, I don’t enjoy doing laundry at all.. but I do soo enjoy the crispness of clean sheets or pressed jeans and so I find my ‘balance’.

    Inner glow comes forth when I’m bliss and when there, I notice that people come forth like a moth to the candle flame. Hubs thinks I’m the luckiest person that he knows.. and with him in my life.. I am truly lucky indeed.

    with love,

    Olivia
    xxoo

  2. February 9, 2010 8:00 am

    Hello Deborah
    I just clicked over from Rhoda’s. Rhoda and I have known each other several years, through decor boards and blogging.

    I enjoyed this post, so very much and browsed through other posts. You have a wonderful blog. I’m adding you to my list, which has grown so much over the past three years, I gave it a blog of it’s own!:-)

  3. February 9, 2010 8:16 am

    Awwww…..look at that. My hubby…right there in the middle of your precious post. 🙂 Thanks for the sweet shout out, and I loved reading your post about Blizzdom. You’re so creative!

    Layla

  4. February 9, 2010 8:34 am

    When I pour my first cup of coffee in the morning..that is bliss to me.

  5. February 9, 2010 9:48 am

    Hi Deborah,
    Great post. I’m afraid I didn’t know a thing coming or going about the Blissdom Conference – but I did participate in the Blizzdom one yesterday. I ran from window to window watching the light change at dawn and then ran out with my camera to capture a few shots. To me being out in nature is bliss, along with playing with art again – I’m still that goofy kid w/ the glue and glitter stuck in my hair.
    Wishing you a wonder-filled day,
    Zuzu

  6. February 9, 2010 10:10 am

    Bliss is better shared, I like to think. It’s sitting at the kitchen table eating breakfast with the kids and my husband on a Saturday morning. A cup of joe, the newspaper, new blog posts on the computer, listening to the kids ramble… a perfect morning of togetherness… bliss indeed!

  7. February 9, 2010 10:48 am

    Blizzdom… being snowed in with my family by our fireplace and snuggling with the dogs 🙂

    Blissdom… not for me. I’m not really people friendly, I’m too honest LOL

    xo,
    rue

  8. February 9, 2010 10:49 am

    HI, Deborah, thanks for your own version of Blizzdom, how funny! Yes, Harry did melt our hearts. I hope to see you there next year. We really did have a blast & it was so much fun to all connect in person.

  9. February 9, 2010 1:48 pm

    I get mine on by gardening. Or decorating. Or just spending time with my pets. I think that event sounds wonderful, for social individuals. It would be overwhelming for me to be in any room with that many people! I’ve met some bloggers in person and we’ve become great friends. But I also have great friends who blog who I haven’t met in person. But like you said, I feel I know them already.
    Brenda

  10. February 9, 2010 2:23 pm

    Aww, this was the cutest post! That is the most hilarious photo of Harry and the snow girls! Soooo clever, lol!

    As you know, I didn’t actually go to the conference but got to meet a lot of wonderful bloggers on Thursday night. I brought my wimpy camera and none of the photos were that great, but I’ll hold memory of meeting everyone!

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your Blizzdom! It’s so beautiful! We still have in our town giant dirty mounts of old snow from the week before last trying to melt away. It’s so disturbing to see – like beached whales:(

    Do you think you’ll go to Blissdom next year? I was all gung ho about going, but I’ve been thinking about the objectives of my blog for the last few days and not sure how much of the information will apply. I need to research some more.

  11. February 9, 2010 2:58 pm

    Sweet Deborah! We need to plan our own Blissdom/Blizzdom, don’tcha think? I have the pleasure of meeting up with Cindy of Cottage Instincts this weekend, so looking forward to that.

    My bliss? I have too many, and well…we all know how that goes. My true blue, heart bliss is the garden. Early morning, me and my hoe, seeing my chickens about, things still wet with dew, feeling like I’m the only one in the world. That’s bliss for me.

  12. February 9, 2010 3:52 pm

    I missed out on Blissdom as well, but if I went I’d have missed out on my daily family bliss. They’re my favorite people and I hate being apart from them! I’ve had fun reading what people who did go have had to say about it. It sure looks like it was fun!

  13. February 9, 2010 4:36 pm

    Bliss for me would be a good book and an entire day to read and not hear “Mom can you get me a drink, can you help me, I need you to do this……”. I know I’ll miss it when they are older but right now a (small) break would be nice.

  14. February 9, 2010 11:06 pm

    Finally got back here to visit…
    Love that you enjoyed your Blizzdom more…think I would have too. I’ve met some awesome people just blogging and feel meeting so many in one spot would be overwhelming. On here it’s more of a one on one…more me.
    Enjoy your snow. I’m hoping ours will melt before April…ok, May!
    (still have Novembers first 2 feet)
    Have a great week.

  15. February 10, 2010 9:30 am

    You my friend have the right idea. Bliss can be found everywhere. Not just a convention. Inspiration can come in the most unexpected of places if you are open to it.

    Be blissed, blizzed, blessed.

  16. February 10, 2010 9:54 am

    WOW…The East is getting slammed!! We haven’t had much of a Winter in the NW…seems like a very long Fall.

    Hope you were able to snuggle up by the fire!!

    The Boys

  17. February 11, 2010 10:29 am

    Hi Deborah!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – I’m so glad you did because now I found you! Love your house (just adorable) and your Blizzdom post – hilarious – love that snowman – you should sell kits to make them 😉

    Here’s to hoping you guys don’t get too much more snow! I’ll be returning to your blog – thanks for stopping by! Perhaps someday we’ll get to meet at the real Blissdom 🙂

    catherine s.

  18. February 12, 2010 12:02 am

    I can’t believe how much snow some of you have been getting! I am so jealous. Nothing but rain here. I love snow. I want to take pictures of snow! I got my Nikon last April and haven’t used it on a snowy day yet!
    I can only imagine what an experience like Blissdom might be like! How fun, to meet those we really connect and enjoy online! I love TLC, would love to meet Kevin and Layla in person, they are a hoot! 🙂
    Stay warm

  19. February 12, 2010 1:42 pm

    What an interesting blog you have Deborah. My other good blogging friend is also called Deborah…but now we call her Miss Bee.
    I haven’t heard of Blissdom, maybe because I live in Canada. Sounds like a great get together with wonderful people.
    I aslo love the creative ones with work shops. Maybe one day.
    I have found beauty in your blog today Deborah.
    Thanks you
    Love Claudie
    xoxoxox

  20. February 12, 2010 2:36 pm

    Ha,ha cute picture of the snowheads and 1 special snowman..I have heard about this event but until recently learned what it entailed. I will be honest, I don’t miss driving in the snow, having to clean my car, but I do miss the “winter feeling”. Here it’s mild and we didn’t have a white x-mas.

  21. February 12, 2010 2:37 pm

    just waking up in my house is pure bliss. I’m still not over the fact we saved it from foreclosure.

  22. February 12, 2010 4:50 pm

    I am loving how everyone is finding beauty in the snow…..the pictrues are awesome. We missed the blog conference….but here will be more. I do think someday it would be great to meet face to face with people we
    have gotten to know through blogging.

  23. February 12, 2010 7:58 pm

    The Fairfield House looks so beautiful in the snow. When I lived in Ohio I loved snow days with my kids…even better if my husband couldn’t drive to work. That was my blizz! My bliss now? Well, my little Valentine soiree was so much fun – yep…days like that are my blissdom! Snuggle in! 🙂 Nancy

  24. February 12, 2010 9:50 pm

    Hi there!!! I want to first thank you for “stopping” by and saying hello and introducing yourself, how sweet. Those type of visits mean so much to me. I hope you come by again and say Hi, would love to hear from you.
    I loved this post. I never heard of the Blissdom Conference, how exciting!! Too bad its so far away.
    My Bliss- is when I walk into my sewing room/workshop and I feel an AAAHHHH!! moment. My space, my place to create and just be me with music in the background, fabric around me or paper spread on every space. That is my bliss!!!

    Arlene

  25. February 13, 2010 8:47 pm

    Thanks for visiting Porch Days. I’m just loving my “Christmas camera.” It is so nice to be able to zoom in on that cardinal who is playing peek-a-boo. He usually flies away from a very visible spot as soon as I touch my camera. How does he know?? Be sure to get one with a good zoom and a macro setting.

  26. February 14, 2010 4:47 am

    Oooh, I didn’t know anything about Blissdom .. and it was held in the hometown of one of my dearest friends! I could have come over and visited with her too!

    Well, OK, I couldn’t, actually, on account of a few irritating medical problems I’ve been dealing with, but a girl can dream. Maybe next year, if it’s in the same place! 🙂

    Love your Harry snowman – and I’m with you on the hyacinths and tulips! I can’t wait for mine to appear this spring!

  27. February 16, 2010 11:46 am

    Don’t you just love a good blizzard?!
    There’s something about all that beautiful white-that clean, fresh world— and OH! that air…!
    I figure if it’s going to be cold, there should be SNOW!
    annie

  28. February 19, 2010 12:50 am

    my bliss is divided in two parts.

    it is pure bliss to walk in the nursery first thing in the morning to get 2 precious babies out of their cribs. who are all smiles & full of adventurous steps.

    but on the other hand, it is such a rarity that i get to enjoy breakfast next to a sunny window – uninterrupted. soaking in the morning rays through my window & daydreaming all while eating a breakfast that is still warm. yes, that is my blissful “dream.”

    just now noticed your sweet comment about my pillows. thank you so much. first time to visit your lovely blog. your writing skills are amazing. really, they are. in just the short time i was here, i am captivated by your stories.

    happy weekend to you! enjoy your blizzdom!

  29. February 23, 2010 2:52 pm

    We HAVE been getting our Blizzdome on this year, haven’t we?! Honestly, we bought a house at the beach so we wouldn’t have to shovel. Foiled again, Watson.

    I am super, super stressed right now (an aggressive but ill-timed job hunt) so “bliss” is more of an aspirational lifestyle for me at this point! Was thinking of giving up my blog altogether, but realized I can just slink into the background for a little while as I sort everything out. There was a bit of bliss this weekend when I saw some green shoots peeking out from the melting snow…and then I remembered I planted 62 bulbs in my little tiny garden in the fall!! With all that’s going on I totally forgot. I’m pretty excited to see what happens…assuming the squirrels didn’t conspire in a bulb relocation plan, which is entirely possible.

    Anyway, here’s to more bliss, less blizz!

Leave a Reply

