Skip to content

The Long Goodbye

December 4, 2009
by

“I cannot endure to waste anything as precious as autumn sunshine by staying in the house.  So I spend almost all the daylight hours in the open air. ~ Nathaniel Hawthorne

ScarecrowDid you ever have a guest that just wouldn’t leave? Well, I finally said farewell to a couple who have been at the Fairfield House since September. They had planned on staying until the first day of winter, December 21st. No doubt in protest against retailers who put out Christmas displays before Halloween.

I hate to rush seasons and usually don’t take down my fall decorations until the last day of November, but this year I am behind schedule. It was above 60 degrees yesterday and the rain stopped so I seized the opportunity to kiss autumn’s cast of characters goodbye and make way for Christmas sparkle.

Pumpkin TurkeyOn another note, I got some happy news yesterday from Kim at Twice Remembered. She was named a finalist in a home improvement contest she entered! The public will decide who wins so I am asking all my readers to please pop over and cast a vote for her. When you see the before and after pictures you will understand why I think Kim is so deserving of this award.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Twice Remembered permalink
    December 4, 2009 2:38 pm

    Aww! Thank you for the shout out! This is so sweet of you to do! I truly appreciate your kindness!

  2. December 9, 2009 6:06 pm

    My fall guests are still in residence! 🙂 Ugh…I wish someone would come put them away and invite the Christmas guests out to play. How can it already be December 9?!

    Thanks so much for your comment on my blog! Glad you found me, and vice versa. I mean “Victorian farmhouse life”…I’m definitely smitten. 🙂

Leave a Reply

