Skip to content

Lucky Thirteen

November 1, 2009
by

Don’t make the mistake of treating your dogs like humans, or they’ll treat you like dogs. ~Martha Scott

Party Animal

Party Animal

We had a birthday at The Fairfield House yesterday. The original devil dog, Buster the beast, turned lucky 13. Lucky, I say, because he’s still alive. I can hardly believe he’s been with me for over a dirty dozen years, it only feels like an eternity. Buster is a wheaton colored cairn terrier but considers himself a pit-bull. Anyone that knows cairn terrorists, knows that a pit-bull would be so much easier.
Don’t be fooled by that lovable face, he’s a killer. Years ago, pre-Fairfield House, he confronted a skunk every other day. I did everything to rid him of his not so sweet smell of success: tomato juice, special ‘guaranteed to work’ shampoo from the vet, perfume … I got so desperate I even bathed him in Massengill’s Vinegar Douche. None of these methods worked. However, the wall paper I hated peeled effortlessly off the walls. On one of the last, hot muggy, hazy in skunk stench days of summer, someone was pounding on my door. I opened it to an angry neighbor pointing at my dog. “There’s a skunk head in my back yard!” he yelled. I stood there in silence wondering where the rest of the skunk was. Maybe this is why I can’t get rid of the smell. Perhaps it’s behind my couch or under my bed.  Then I thought of The Lord of the Flies and pictured Buster proudly displaying his skunk head on a stick in front of his dog house. Then I thought of him changing his name to Buster Boone sporting a skunk skin cap. I must have started to hum Buster Boone was a dog. Yes a tough dog. With an eye like an eagle and as broad as a mountain was he. Buster Boone was a dog. Yes a tough dog. He was brave, he was fearless and as tough as a mighty oak tree. From the skunk-skin cap on the top of ol’ Buster to the end of his rawhide bone. The rippin’est roarin’est fightin’est dog the frontier ever knew. Buster Boone was a dog. Yes a tough dog. And he fought for America to make all Americans free. What a Boone. What a wonder. What a dream comer truer was he.… my neighbor seemed more infuriated. Buster had gone green and saved the town from that rootin’ tootin’ air pollutin’ skunk and all we got is grief. Holding back my laughter, my face contorted as tears streamed down my cheeks, I asked if he wanted me to remove the remains of the decapitated skunk from his yard. At that point I was considering having it mounted and hung over my mantel. He didn’t. He just wanted me to know what kind of dog I had. Oh, I know. That’s why I love him so.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2009 11:21 am

    What a dog buster is! That was hilarious! And I know all about that smell…one of my childhood dogs got tangled with a skunk and it took MONTHS to rid our home of the odor. It permeated everything! Oh my – and we tried everything {except douche, hehe!} but to no avail!

    He’s a cutie:) We have a 14 year old corgi and she has been such a joy as well. I don’t like to think about her being so advanced in years, though. She has no serious issues but a little arthritis…

  2. December 30, 2009 1:11 pm

    Buster.. what a dog he is! Now that quote up there.. I’d have to disagree with Martha.. Maggie has never treated me as a ‘dog’.. in fact she as I wrote in my ‘about me info’ is more sensintivity than most humans.. and undying love to the end no matter what.

    Maggie is coming to oldest age that she can achieve and each day we are thankful that she awakes with excitment and love. She sleeps more and desires to at least keep me in her eyesight range. I talk or sing during the day which comforts her and stops the ‘shadowing’ effect as long as her ‘foo foo’ bed is close by. Best 10 dollars we ever spent! Funny thing, when I carry her around.. it’s like she’s riding on a magic carpet.. and sits so regal like.

    Buster my dear is so much like Maggie.. Always there, talking with you, telling you what’s what.. will kick some arse and of course would have taken names later for the protection of his mother. AS I see it.. Buster’s soul is very deep and kind and soo loving. A true love that is pure.

    Hugs to you and Buster!!

    ~Olivia

  3. February 7, 2010 11:33 am

    I’m trying to read all of your pasts posts! I find more and more that we are truly kindred spirits. Our dog Rudi has his adoption date celebrated and he has his own Christmas stocking.
    Yes, he’ll even be giving a special can of wet dog food on Valentine’s Day. Sweet Boy picked it because it had a pink label. 🙂

    Love that you’re decorating for the day with crumpled candy wrappers. 🙂

  4. March 7, 2010 4:15 pm

    Okay..that’s pretty funny. I can’t laugh too much though because junk might come out my nose. This skunk smell is driving my sinuses crazy!

  5. June 29, 2010 11:34 am

    What a dog!! Great stories. I bet he was so proud he got that old nasty skunk that had tormented him!!!

  6. June 29, 2010 12:05 pm

    Welcome to Tuesdays’ Show & Tail! Now that is a funny story about Buster! He sure is a vicious looking cutie! hehehe Of course he was proud of his skunk smell. My dogs are always proud of what ever it is they drag in whether they killed it or not. Also, if you decide you don’t want him you can send him to my house. He can kill a lot of skunks where I live! My dog finally gave up on them. She couldn’t stand the smell so she lets them be! lol

    Thanks for sharing your Buster with us this week! He sounds like a character!

    Tuesdays’ Show & Tail!
    Angela

  7. June 29, 2010 1:03 pm

    What a brave dog! He needs to be knighted by the Queen of England! Great story!

Leave a Reply

